The Fall Is In The Air Book Tag

Fall is my favoritest season and I’m so glad that it’s finally here! Today I’m doing the Fall Is In The Air book tag, which I ever-so-sneakily stole from Kayleigh @ A Book Lover’s Playlist. I’m super excited to talk about fall and books, obviously two of the greatest things ever!

Enjoy!

batwoman elegyAUTUMN.
A book with fall colors of orange, yellow, and red

I wanted to choose a graphic novel or comic book for this part because it would have colors throughout instead of just on the cover! Batwoman: Elegy by Greg Rucka has a gorgeous color scheme consisting mostly of black and red, which may be cheating slightly because there’s not actually that much orange or yellow in it, but… black is a very Halloween-y color, right?!

PUMPKIN PICKING.
Favorite fictional food

I just spent WAY too much time trying to narrow it down to one food, so I’m going to cheat and list a few of my favorites! I’ve always wanted to try Sansa’s lemon cakes from A Song of Ice and Fire, lembas bread from Lord of the Rings, and pretty much anything that is sold on the Hogwarts Express.

Everything I’ve listed here is a baked good, which doesn’t surprise me in the least. BAKING IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE THINGS TO DO IN THE FALL.

the-disreputable-history-of-frankie-landau-banksLOST IN A CORN MAZE.
A really good book you got lost in

I picked this book because the story takes place at school! Frankie is one of my favorite YA female protagonists. She works behind the scenes to take control of a secret, boys-only club at her elite private school. I could not put this book down – and whenever I reread it, I know that I’ll get completely sucked in and will accomplish nothing else that day!

BIRDS FLY SOUTH.
What bad book made you want to fly south?

I read The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin for a Mythology, Fantasy, & Science Fiction class in high school – or rather, I tried to read it. I actually DNFed it and faked my way through the reading response for that week because I found the story too dull and confusing to continue. It was disappointing because this is a book that questions things such as sexuality, gender, and more – which is exactly the sort of thing I’m into. But I clashed with her writing style. Oh, well. Maybe I’ll try again another day?

frindleSWEATERS.
A book that makes you happy

FrindleThe School StoryThe Landry News, and all of Andrew Clements’ other middle grade books are some of my top choices when I’m sad or bored or bummed out and feel like reliving my childhood: They’re short and fairly uncomplicated reads and were either among some of the first books I ever read or were read aloud to me by my mom. GOOD TIMES.

dracula-nicky-raven-adaptationGHOST STORY.
A scary or spooky book

I’m going to go with a classic here: Dracula by Bram Stoker! It’s one of my favorite old books, too: Very suspenseful, and told in the form of letters, newspaper clippings, et cetera, which forces you to piece together what really happened. I first read it for British lit in high school and covered it again in a Gothic lit course this past summer!

BLACK CAT.
Favorite fictional pet

Crookshanks, definitely. I’ve always been intrigued by this cat from Harry Potter and I’m not ashamed to say that I find the crackpot “Hermione’s cat is actually Mundungus Fletcher in Animagus form” theories actually fairly plausible. THAT CAT IS NOT A NORMAL CAT, I SWEAR TO GOD.

last stand of dead menDEMONS.
Favorite evil or villainous character

It’s a tie between Lord Vile and Darquesse, both from the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy! I don’t want to say too much about them for fear of giving away the big plot twist, but I was pleasantly surprised by the creative and unusual direction in which Landy took the series. And OH that scene when Darquesse transforms at the end of Last Stand of Dead Men

GRIM REAPER.
A character you want dead

Well, that seems a little extreme… but I’m going to answer it regardless because why not? I wouldn’t mind at all if Eragon died because THAT BOY IS INSUFFERABLE. At my writing group last month we had a discussion about how to decide who should narrate your story and, with the exception of one person, we all agreed that Eragon was the wrong choice for that particular story because all of the supporting characters are more interesting.

sabrielHALLOWEEN PARTY.
What book character would you dress up as?

Sabriel! I love Sabriel. I need my own copy of it… and it would be so much fun to dress up as the main character! The costume is kind of complicated but if I were to really do this, I have a friend who’s great at sewing and costume design, so I’m sure she could work out something.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

What are your favorite books set in the fall, or that remind you of fall in some way? Oh oh OH and what makes you feel like fall is in the air?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fall Is In The Air Book Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me! 🙂
    I love fall time. It’s such a great time of year! Thinking about NaNoWriMo coming up is what really gets me in the fall mood 😀

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I also didn’t finish the Left Hand of Darkness. I think part of the difficulty was that it takes place within a larger cycle of worldbuilding (it’s like, #6 in a series or something, as well as being standalone??? idk) so I mostly had no idea what was going on, but I also didn’t click with the writing style and just found it totally inaccessible. Which was a shame, because I’d heard a lot about it.

    Thanks for tagging me! I’m not 100% sure if I’ll participate because I’ve already done one autumnal book tag and I don’t know if I have anything else to say on an autumnal theme (I’ll never get over the word ‘fall’, I’m sorry), but I’ll keep it in mind as a possibility!

  3. Evi says:

    Thank you for the tag! Ahhhh, I love fall so much! And oh my gosh, Andrew Clement’s books are the best cheerful things.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

