Things That Happened Lately | RA Applications, Thinking About The Election, & I Have A Buzz Cut Now (!!!!!!)

Hey, everyone! Just thought I’d post a quick life-y update before I do one about my classes in a few days’ time. Life has been incredibly busy right now and I’m actually writing this in between journalism assignments, as I needed a quick brain break.

So here is what I’ve been up to! Enjoy!

unnamed1. Got a buzz cut

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The sides of my undercut weren’t too long but the top part was in desperate need of a trim and I’d been meaning to see what I looked like with a buzz cut anyway so when I was over at my friend Jill’s apartment this weekend I asked if she could just buzz it all off with her clippers. And she did. And now my hair is SO SHORT. So, so short. I look like a smaller, softer version of Furiosa.

The seasons shifted from summer to fall incredibly quickly this year: The temperature was in the eighties last week, but this morning it was only 36 oF! Between that and my brand-new lack of hair, wearing a hat is a must and I’ve had SO much fun dramatically pulling it off to reveal my new haircut.

I think I’ve already said this before, and I’ll probably say it again later, but once I chopped my hair off this summer, changing my hairstyle frequently and trying new things suddenly didn’t seem like a big deal anymore. After all, the worst that can happen is that I don’t like how it looks… but even then it’s no big deal, because hair grows back. IT’S JUST HAIR. Why NOT buzz it all off just to see how it looks, since it’s hella short already?

2. Started the very long process of becoming an RA

That is, I went to a mandatory information session and have begun to fill out the application form! Since it requires a resume, two letters of recommendation, and several essays, it’s a good idea to start early.

I’m not sure if RAs are a thing at colleges in other countries, so I’ll explain: An RA, or resident assistant, is an upperclassman who lives in the dorms and ensures that life there goes smoothly. They do everything from manning the front desk and patrolling the hallways at night to organizing fun activities for their residents and being the shoulder they can cry on if someone is stressed.

I don’t know exactly how this job works at other schools, but at mine RAs receive free room and board, plus a $5000 stipend per year. All in all it’s a very demanding job – in fact, RAs here aren’t allowed to hold any other job during the school year because the university is concerned that they would be overwhelmed. It is also a very competitive job, with about seventy-five new RAs chosen from an applicant pool of about three hundred annually.

I didn’t apply for this position last year because I didn’t think I could handle the responsibility… also, I was just plain too depressed to get myself to all the informational and/or training meetings!

Once we’ve been selected, which is still a long way off, we can request to be placed in a particular LLC, or Living-Learning Community. Of course, this doesn’t guarantee that this is where we’ll actually be assigned, but my dream RA position would be in the Honors LLC, where I lived last year. It’s such an AMAZING community and I want to contribute to it! My second choice would be All In, which does not currently exist but will debut for the 2017-2018 school year. Its focus is building a strong LGBTQ+ presence on campus.

3. Checked election news obsessively

Because I am required to read various newspapers for at least half an hour per day for Journalistic Reporting & Reporting… and also because this is my country and I care about what happens in November and who our next leader will be.

Anyway, I started following The New York Times (one of the required news sources for JRW) on Facebook so that I see the news even more often on my phone, and I’ve been checking FiveThirtyEight obsessively. It’s so satisfying to see Trump’s chance of being electing steadily dissipate.

For a while Clinton and Trump were almost neck and neck, getting dangerously even in terms of percentage points, and it was making me nervous. I mean, I still am anxious that something could go wrong because I have anxiety about literally everything and this election is so important, but I do feel a little better now. I’m planning to vote early in a week or so because if there are fewer people at the polls on election day, it makes things easier for people with limited time who may not visit their local polling place if they see long lines. Or at least that’s what I’ve been told.

-~-

What have you been up to lately, especially apart from schoolwork? I can’t believe this fall has gone by so quickly!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things That Happened Lately | RA Applications, Thinking About The Election, & I Have A Buzz Cut Now (!!!!!!)

  1. orphu44 says:

    Ahh, your haircut looks so good I love it!! ❤ (I know I've said this before but you look so lovely I'm probably going to be saying it until you're sick of it.)
    And my Fahrenheit is still fuzzy at best but dropping from eighties to thirties still sounds like quite a drop.
    My first thought was 'yeah, we have RAs, I was one!' before I realized you were talking about resident assistants, not research assistants. Resident assistant sounds like it entails a Lot. Good luck with your application!

  2. Heather says:

    I LIKE YOUR HAIR! I would want to touch it and see what it feels like if I didn’t have an aversion to touching people’s hair because that is gross. (I bet it makes showering easier too.) Good luck with your RA position! My best friend is an RA. She finds the relationships with her residents really nice (although I think any glamour of dealing with drunk kids at two in the morning has worn off quite a bit). Have a good week!

  3. matttblack42 says:

    If you got a prosthetic arm and put some black face paint on your forehead, your transformation into Furiosa would be complete. I’ll chop your arm off for you if you want.

    I can’t wait till this election’s over. I have parents that are voting for Trump and while we don’t talk about politics often, when we do, shit goes down. (and my blood pressure goes up!) I’m so glad I left for college, ’cause this would be so much worse otherwise.

  4. I love your haircut! 😀

  5. Mahima says:

    Your hair is brilliant!

    And the election has me worried as well. We have so many Brits here giving their two cents (pence?) on the election, and checking the news, and watching the debates.

  6. Miriam Joy says:

    Being an RA sounds like a stressful but rewarding job! We don’t have those here — all staff in college are, like, actual staff, not just older students. I expect that’s partly because of how the uni’s set up in a collegiate system, which is unusual, and partly because finalists are expected to be working too hard, but mostly I think we just don’t do that here. Not sure if any unis in England do, though, or if Cambridge is the exception.

    But then again, we’re not allowed to have a part-time job in Cambridge full stop, because the workload is too demanding. Our terms are short and holidays long, so the idea is that you can work in the holidays just not in term time, and if you’re struggling financially the university has a lot of grants etc it can provide. It doesn’t bother me because I’m not physically well enough to stay on top of uni work, let alone a job as well, but I think it does make the university a bit of a bubble — everyone’s just completely separate from the real world during term time.

    I agree with you about hair. I used to be really averse to cutting it off but as you know, I’ve cut it short three or four times now, had an undecut, cut it myself, let it grow back, etc etc. Once you do it once, it’s DEFINITELY less daunting. Like, whenever I re-dyed mine I could just think, “Oh well, if I hate the colour I’ll just cut it short again.” It totally changed my perspective. Short hair suits you! And isn’t it SO much easier in the mornings?

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2016 | Writing, The Election, & “Moana” | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

