Top 10 Literary Cat Names | Author Edition

This is my cat, Mr. Whiskers! He doesn't have a literary name... I'm just adding a picture here because he's cute and I miss him so much.

This is my cat, Mr. Whiskers! He doesn’t have a literary name… I’m just adding a picture here because he’s cute and I miss him so much.

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “ten characters you’d name a child/dog/cat/car/et cetera after.”

And, well, two of the things I love most in this world are cats and books! Spending time with either one – or, preferably, both – makes me feel so happy. I’d rather be around them than other people!

So, yeah. The more cats and books in my life, the better. Aside from education and career goals, one of the things I want most for my future is to live with my wife and some cats in a small house filled with books and plants. I have a running list of possible cat name ideas, most of which are organized in pairs because if you have two then they can be friends! (Or mortal enemies. It really depends.) Some of the names in this post come from that list, and others are brand-new.

In fact, I got so into writing this post that it turned into two separate posts! This one is just for author names, and on Wednesday I published one with character names. BECAUSE REASONS.

Enjoy!

james-and-the-giant-peach1. Roald

I have this theory that old-fashioned names work really well as pet names, sooo… gotta have a cat named after one of my favorite children’s book authors, Roald Dahl!

2. Derek

This just sounds like the name of a mischievous cat, doesn’t it? Basically I just looked at my “favorites” shelf on Goodreads and picked out author names that reminded me of the personalities of cats I know.

3. Bram Stoker

LISTEN I AM GOING TO ADOPT A BLACK CAT WITH SNAGGLY TEETH AND NAME IT BRAM AND THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO TO STOP ME.

4. Dante

His full name? Dante’s InFURno.

(I swear to god, my pun-making capabilities are 1000% whenever I’m around cats or think about cats. You’re welcome.)

bad feminist5. Roxane

I love how Roxane Gay spells her name, and now I want to use that name for someone or something! I don’t want kids, so I have to give this name to a cat one day. Obviously.

6. Neil

Like… this list is not that deep. It’s literally just author names that sound like sleepy cats. I hope Neil Gaiman appreciates that.

7. Suzanne

This would be an adorable name for an older cat! (If I forget to feed her… is that the Hunger Games?)

the dream thieves8. Maggie

IS THIS NOT THE FLUFFIEST, MOST SQUISHY CAT NAME EVER? Maggie Stiefvater seems decidedly not squishy, but I’m going to steal her name anyway and read my cat her books.

9. Bill

After Bill Bryson? After Bill Watterson? Who even knows?

10. Terry

For Terry Pratchett, of course. His middle name would have to be Maurice, after the feline main character in Pratchett’s book The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents.

-~-

What characters would you name a cat (or dog or bird or fish or car or child) after? And why?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top 10 Literary Cat Names | Author Edition

  1. matttblack42 says:

    You forgot the best and most majestic cat name of them all.

    (“Matt.”)

  2. orphu44 says:

    Mr, Whiskers is such a handsome cat.

  3. YAY MORE LITERARY CATS. Aw Mr Whiskers is so cute ❤ He looks tiny bit like one of my cats! All of these names are also fantastic aah! Neil is such a sleepy cat name. (I mean, also a good human name. But a great sleepy cat name.)

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I think Maggie sounds catlike partly because it’s quite similar to moggie (moggy? how do you spell that), haha.

    I don’t know if I’d name a cat after many authors. They tend to have such… *human* names. Maybe I’d go for surnames. Imagine yelling a cat’s name when it’s, like, “Stiefvater” or “Reeve” or something. So hardcore. Gaiman the Cat. Though weirdly that sounds like it should be a verb. To gaiman.

  5. Heather says:

    A cat named Bram… You need to stop sharing things about cats because I want one and I cannot afford a cat because I have no money. I feel only sad catless space in my world. D:

  6. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2016 | Writing, The Election, & “Moana” | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

