A Bookish Update #5

Hi, everyone! I’ve been sooo busy lately but I just thought I’d check in here with a quick post about MY BOOKISH LIFE. The last time I did an update like this, school had barely even started and I was still still wrapped in a happy cocoon of MOTIVATION and OVERACHIEVING-NESS (that’s totally a word, shh) that assured me that I could READ ALL OF THE THINGS on ALL OF THE DAYS

Aaaand it turns out that I actually CAN’T, because homework is a thing. And so is studying. And so is SLEEP. (Ugh. How rude.) But I am still trying, because I am nothing if not a persistent bookworm.

Enjoy!

no-plot-no-problemFinished A Little While Ago

I set out to read a bunch of books about writing this year, aaaand… while I haven’t had time to read as many as I would like, I DID finish both No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty and  Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke.

No Plot? No Problem offered some surprisingly helpful advice, considering that next month will be my fifth NaNoWriMo. At first I thought it would only be useful to brand-new NaNoers, but it soon happily proved to be otherwise.

Letters to a Young Poet, on the other hand, was much more abstract: It talked about the importance of art and the loneliness of writing and whatnot. It also got REALLY WEIRD REALLY FAST but you’ll just have to wait to see what I mean when I review it in a couple of weeks.

Just Finished

I finished Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris only last night! It’s a collection of humorous essays that came recommended to me by a bunch of different people: My mom, aunt, cousins, grandma, some online friends, et cetera… I rarely laugh out loud at books but that happened multiple times with this book!

Currently Reading

Sundays are my day off, which means that I cram as much reading as possible into that day! This morning I’ve already begun listening to the audiobook of Dubliners by James Joyce. I read a few of the short stories from this book for a lit class last year and really enjoyed them, so I’m excited to read the rest of them! It’s supposed to be in the 60s and 70s today, so I’m going to dress warmly and then find a pretty place outdoors to sit and listen.

Today I’m also going to read About A Village by Eamonn McCabe, which is a photoessay about a small English town. I looooove coffee table books and decided to read this one since I haven’t read very many like that lately!

100-years-wisdom-from-famous-writers-on-every-year-of-your-lifeReading Next

I found 100 Years: Wisdom From Famous Writers on Every Year of Your Life by Joshua Prager and Milton Glaser at the library on Friday and OH MY GOD IT LOOKS AMAZING. It’s exactly what it sounds like: Quotes about every age, from one to one hundred, beautiful illustrated and organized. I can’t wait to read it!

I follow Sarah’s Scribbles on Facebook, so you can bet that I was excited to find Sarah Andersen’s new book, Adulthood Is A Myth: A Sarah’s Scribbles Collection! I didn’t even realize the library had acquired it already.

Reading Soon

Black Panther, Vol.1: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi was one of my most anticipated comics of 2016 and GUESS WHO HAS HER HANDS ON A COPY OF IT NOW! AHHH! In order to stay motivated and avoid the temptation to just read comics all day long, day in and day out, this book will be my reward if I judge myself to have had a productive day next Saturday. (I mean… honestly I’m probably going to let myself read it regardless of how much I accomplish that day but I’M TRYING TO ADULT HERE, PEOPLES.)

On a similar note, I’ve also been waiting practically FOREVER (well, it felt like that, anyway) for the library to buy The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 4: Rising Action by Kieron Gillen and now I have that one to read too!

your-illustrated-guide-to-becoming-one-with-the-universeRecently Added To TBR List

Some of the books I recently found and/or were recommended to me are:

  • I’ve been trying to focus more on self care lately, and as a result I found the book Your Illustrated Guide to Becoming One with the Universe by Yumi Sakugawa, which appears to be a creative, artistic little creation that teaches you how to calm down and let things go. Perfect!
  • Hello Me, It’s You by Hannah Todd is a collection of letters written by teens and young adults who have mental health issues and I’m so excited to read it! It’s currently available only in ebook form, and I don’t have an ereader… but I’ll figure something out!
  • Reading Ursula K. LeGuin’s fiction has so far been a struggle for me, but I added her writing guide Steering the Craft: Exercises and Discussions on Story Writing for the Lone Navigator or the Mutinous Crew to my TBR because I love learning others’ opinions on writing!
  • I’m really into the idea of combining self care with artistic pursuits, so I added Living Out Loud: Activities to Fuel a Creative Life by Keri Smith (the creator of the Wreck This Journal series, which I hope to acquire sometime soon) and can’t wait to see what it has to offer!
  • I recently added Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler because I need to read more fantasy and science fiction by POC authors!

-~-

Feel free to steal this idea for your own blog, or answer the questions in the comments! Actually, PLEASE answer the questions in the comments, because I would love to know more about your reading habits! (And what is the best book you’ve read lately? Do you have any recs for me?!)

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Bookish Update #5

  1. Oh I love this, it’s like a more detailed post than the meme I just did. I kinda like this one better though.
    So you didn’t like Letters to A Young Poet?
    Also I’m jealous your library has a copy of Sarah’s Scribbles! I don’t think mine does yet.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahh, thank you! 🙂

      No, I definitely did like it! Some parts were just really weird though. Like… he went on a lot of tangents about Men and Women and Having Sex and I’m just like… why? This is a book about writing and inspiration? So idek.

      I hope your library has a copy now! 🙂

  2. Mahima says:

    Dude I wrote the answers to like three of those questions and realised that this would undeniably be a great post idea! I’m joining you for Bookish Updates now!

    And also I think it’s brilliant that you’re reading so many books about self-care. The one by Yumi Sakugawa and Hello Me, It’s You sound particularly awesome (and I shall promptly put them on the tbr!).

    • nevillegirl says:

      YES YES YES I AM SO EXCITE. 😀

      Thanks! I love reading nonfiction and lately I’ve realized that a good way to do that is by choosing books about self-care, motivation, mental health, et cetera. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bookish Update #1 – The Controversy

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

