8 Reasons Why “Adulthood Is A Myth” Is The Perfect Book For Anyone Who Fails At #Adulting (AKA All Of Us)

adulthood-is-a-mythSarah’s Scribbles is one of my favorite pages on Facebook, so I was really excited when I heard that Sarah Andersen was going to publish a collection of her comics! Just about everything she posts is #me. Like, YES, I too am awkward and a failure at adulting.

If you don’t already follow her on social media, you really should! In the meantime, I’m reviewing her new book, Adulthood is a Myth, giving eight reasons why this book is perfect for anyone who, like me, tries and fails to be a Real Adult.

1. It’s very short

Free time? AHAHA WHAT EVEN IS THAT. Between school, jobs, internships, relationships, and the ever-present black hole of distraction known as the Internet, hardly anyone my age seems to have much time to read. When we do have time to read, it’s usually small chunks of time… soooooooo short books are best, right?! Adulthood is a Myth is 109 pages and consists entirely of pictures. PERFECT.

2. The cover is fuzzy

I repeat: The COVER is FUZZY. More specifically, the title and the protagonist’s* baggy sweater are. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture to prove this because I borrowed this book from the library and their copy is already pretty well-worn and not photogenic, so you’ll just have to trust me on this. Anyway, it’s rather glorious. I wanted to rub my face all over, but I didn’t because that would be weird. So I ended up stroking it as though it were some sort of deranged pet. Very soothing.

*AKA Sarah

3. Sarah is hilarious

I read this book in one sitting on a very bad day: Nothing had gone as planned and I was just about ready to cry, so I took a break from what I had been trying and failing to do and picked up a book to distract myself. I have a stack of library books two feet high, waiting to be read, and this ended up being the best choice possible out of all of them.

4. Her take on anxiety is oddly comforting

As a person who spends 119% of her life in a state of stress, I can’t even begin to describe how important this is to me. Adulting + anxiety = NO, JUST NO. I really appreciate her comics about awkward phone calls and awkward dates and awkward friendships.

5. Adulting

FYI, I hate it when people hate on the term “adulting!” I’d like to see how well people from earlier generations would handle growing up with my generation instead, because we have a lot to deal with because in addition to all the usual stressors of young adulthood we have things such as rapidly increasing college tuition fees and global warming.

Wow, that got dark all of a sudden.

Anyway, my point is that we’re held to very high standards and when we struggle to find solutions to both our personal problems and those created by earlier generations, we’re bombarded with snide remarks about how we must have been too busy taking selfies to do anything. Adulthood is a Myth isn’t just a collection of cute, lighthearted comics: It has some pretty insightful moments, too. It perfectly captures the spirit behind #adulting – that is, a mixture of determination and self-deprecation.

6. Feminism

Enough said.

7. Cute animals*

Sarah’s cat and bunny appear throughout this book, as well as in many of the other comics she posts! (They represent the extent of her maternal instinct, as one drawing

Usually, they’re shown judging her in some way, which seems totally accurate. When I’m lying facedown on the floor because I need to schedule a doctor’s appointment but I’m too anxious to make a phone call, my cat just gives me a withering look as if to say, “Get a grip… also, I haven’t been fed in half an hour and I am starving. OBEY ME, HUMAN. NOW.”

*Also, every single flower she draws has a smiley face. YES, I KNOW FLOWERS AREN’T ANIMALS. SHUT UPPPPP.  I just thought it as cute. The world would be 10x kinder if flowers really did smile at us.

8. It’s the first in a series!

YESSSS. Big Mushy Happy Lump is the sequel and is due to be published in 2017! So you can read this book knowing that if you fall head over heels in love with it, as I did, there will soon be more!

-~-

After reading Adulthood Is A Myth, I honestly felt like Sarah Andersen understood me so well that she must be one of my friends in disguise. Or possibly, like, actually me. OH MY GOD WHAT IF I HAD A CLONE AND ALSO SHE WAS ARTISTICALLY TALENTED THAT WOULD BE SO AWESOME.

But back to what I was saying: Considering how few books I’ve been able to read for fun this semester, I’m very glad I picked up this one because it turned out to be an A+ use of my time. I highly recommend that you check out Adulthood Is A Myth!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 8 Reasons Why “Adulthood Is A Myth” Is The Perfect Book For Anyone Who Fails At #Adulting (AKA All Of Us)

  1. Mahima says:

    This sounds so good – I want to read it! And everything in it is so cuddly and warm and lovely!!

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    I identify with this. I’ve been putting off sending an email all evening and didn’t get on with it until Nellie (the cat that adopted me) kicked me in the boob when I tried to dry her because she’d been in the rain and I didn’t want her walking muddy pawprints all over my carpet. That was more painful than sending the email would be. So, I sent the email. Thanks, Nellie.

  3. Heather says:

    I love seeing her comics around the internet! I’m excited to see what she has in her book. I have it on hold at the library, but as of yet it has not come. 😦 WAITING IS HARD.

  4. Pingback: 2016 End-Of-Year Book Survey! | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

