Pre-Election Day Feelings

It’s the night before the election and I wish my emotions would stop… doing whatever it is that they’re doing. Flinging themselves wildly up and down, I guess. I wish it were Tuesday night – or even better, Wednesday morning. I wish my feelings would stop going from ridiculously optimistic to ridiculously low in the span of fifteen minutes. I wish my stomach would stop twisting into knots of anxiety so bad that it makes me not want to eat.

I keep checking FiveThirtyEight obsessively, like several times every hour. I’m super tired – because of the election, and also because this has just been a really long day in general – but also jittery and on edge. And there’s nothing I can do about it. I voted early, the first day early voting was available at the student union.

I don’t know. I’m kind of a mess right now. I’m terrified about what would happen if Trump were elected, but Clinton’s not great either. And Mike Pence has been on my mind a lot lately? This weekend I was looking at one of my posts from the spring of 2015 when I was mad and sad about the anti-LGBTQ+ legislation he created. “Fire Mike Pence” and “Pence Must Go!” signs sprouted up all around my town back then –  and now, no matter the outcome of this election, he won’t be our governor anymore. Buuuuut he might also be the second-most-powerful person in this country. And if something happened to Trump? It wouldn’t be “Make America Great Again,” it would be “Make America Indiana Again.” Wonderful. NOT.

I don’t even know. I had planned to write something more articulate tonight, but I’m really not feeling it now. Someone asked me if I would be at a Wednesday meeting and I was just like, well, I haven’t thought that far ahead and honestly it all depends on how much sleep I got the night before! In the meantime, my roommate and I are going to try to distract ourselves by watching Agent Carter and eating candy. As one does.

GO VOTE TOMORROW. PLEASE.

P.S. I found this SNL sketch from over a year ago and OH MAN it’s a blast from the past. Everyone thought the idea of Trump winning the primaries was so funny. HOW INNOCENT WE ALL WERE.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pre-Election Day Feelings

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I love that skit. Have you seen the Curb your Enthusiam parody with Larry David as Bernie Sanders? I thought that was hysterical.

    I’ve come around to Hillary quite a bit over the past few months. I think its the Game of Thrones effect. Where you hate the Lannisters, but then you meet the Greyjoys, and suddenly the Lannisters don’t seem so bad. And then you meet the Freys, and now the Greyjoys dont seem so bad. And then you meet the Boltons, and suddenly the Freys seem harmless. Hillary is the … Lannisters(?) in this scenario, although due to her hawkish positions in the past, I’d say she’s more of a Targaryen. Plus Trump is more of a Joffrey than a Bolton.

  2. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2016 | Writing, The Election, & “Moana” | Musings From Neville's Navel

  3. Pingback: 20 Things I Did In 2016 That I’d Never Done Before | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

