An Update On My Classes | Sentences, Reading Responses, & Data

Hi, everyone! It’s time for another monthly update about what I’ve been doing in all my classes lately! Hard to believe it’s already almost Thanksgiving break, isn’t it?!

Enjoy!

Prose Style

We’ve transitioned from reading selections from the writing guide Building Great Sentences by Brooks Landon to reading other things: Sam Lipsyte’s short story collection Venus Drive, Edith Wharton’s novel The Age of Innocence, and Vladimir Nabokov’s poem-and-following-commentary-as-novel Pale Fire. I’m having so much fun analyzing what it is that characterizes these authors’ sentences and how best to incorporate their style into our own writing.

Foundations of the English Major

Ahhhh I just love this class so much? I’m fairly sure Prose Style is still my favorite, but I really like this professor. Lately he’s managed to tie each of his lectures back to current events: It’s so comforting to hear about other times when the world seemed to be tearing itself apart with hate and fear and violence and that no, it’s not easy to fix any of these problems, but we can’t let that get the best of us. We can’t give up. Really cool how he gets that out of a single poem by Whitman or Auden or whoever.

Also my friend and I found his Twitter and checking it is now how we amuse ourselves while waiting for lecture to begin.

Media Shift

GOD I HATE THIS CLASS but on the other hand I’ve finally turned in all eight of the required reading responses so that’s one less thing to worry about! Gah, writing one each week was like pulling teeth. We’re now rapidly approaching something much more stressful, though – annotated bibliographies and thesis outlines and ten-page final papers. Ahhhh I’m so overwhelmed. Whenever I think about actually working on my projects for this class I just want to go to bed and sleep for approximately 409276503272309 years.

Journalistic Reporting & Writing

I’m actually going to give a more thorough update about this class and its counterpart, Intro to Multimedia Storytelling (see below) later, but in the meantime I will say that I’ve finally grown accustomed to the inverted pyramid format used in news writing. These past few days have left me feeling pretty depressed and unmotivated but I’m doing my best to work hard on a major assignment, due on Friday, that gives us some practice in writing public affairs stories.

Introduction to Multimedia Storytelling

For the MMS component of the public affairs story we have to create maps, charts, graphs, et cetera using data related to our subject. My story/data is all about library funding and literacy in Iowa and while I would normally have a lot of fun doing yet another book-themed project for these classes, it’s all a bit much for me at the moment. #depressionfeels

I’ll get through it, though. (Let’s end this post on a happy note!) Pretty soon it’ll be Thanksgiving break and I won’t have to worry about any JOURNALISTICAL THINGIES for an entire week, until I get back.

-~-

How has your life been? Tell me one new thing you learned in school lately!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Update On My Classes | Sentences, Reading Responses, & Data

  1. Mom says:

    Your Foundations prof sounds quite amusing!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

