The Be Thankful Challenge

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! Today I’m doing the Be Thankful Challenge, which I borrowed from Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions. She did this tag last Thanksgiving and I’ve been saving it for an entire year because I loved the idea so much!

Enjoy!

Five People I’m Thankful For In 2016

1. 

I’m so thankful for my online best friend, Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words! We live in different countries and are almost two thousand miles apart, which can be difficult at times, but we make the best of it and are hoping to meet up someday soon!

Orphu is THE BEST at cheering me up when I’m sad. She always listens, no matter what I’m rambling on about at the moment. Also, she mails me packets of tea (!!!) and drawings of the two of us as pirates/mermaids/dragon tamers (!!!!!!). In return, I send her books, cat pictures, and memes. YOU WISH YOU HAD A FRIENDSHIP LIKE THIS.

2.

I’m also thankful for my IRL best friend, Jill! The last time I had a best friend in real life was probably in second grade, so I definitely don’t take relationships like this for granted. I love all my online friends, but the distance between us is very hard to handle sometimes. Therefore, I love being able to spend time with Jill. I love taking classes with her and I love attempting to cook things with her and I love watching movies with her. And I love that we’re so supportive of each other in everything we do!

3.

I’m thankful for Anna Barker, my favorite professor here at the University of Iowa. She is the most enthusiastic, outgoing, and helpful professor I have ever had! I have taken two courses with her – Superheroes Unleashed: 3,000 Years of Heroes, Villains, & A Mad Race for Immortality and Wonder Woman Unleashed: A Hero for Our Times.

Despite their lighthearted, easy-sounding titles, I worked harder in those classes than I have in any other. She constantly pushes her students to make connections between modern stories and the classics, and to come to new and exciting conclusions about them.

Even better, we’re working on a scholarly paper about pedagogy and pop culture together, based on the experience we’ve had both learning and teaching about comic books in the classroom. I’m so excited to see where our project goes from here and I greatly appreciate the opportunity to continue working with her.

4.

I’m thankful for my roommate, Bridget. I wasn’t very close to my freshman year roommate and, although I got along well with my summer roommate, we simply didn’t spend as much time together as we would have liked since the summer semester is only twelve weeks long.

Within the first week or so after moving in together, we were already good friends. My first ever roommate and I barely spoke to one another, but Bridget and I do a lot together: Studying, eating dinner, watching TV and movies. We even joined a cooking club together. There are times when we hardly see each other because our schedules are so different, but we’re always happy to see one another after a long day. I’ve been really good about going to bed at reasonable hours this semester but on the rare occasions when I stay up late, it’s because Bridget and I just can’t stop talking and laughing about something.

5.

I’m thankful for Nick & Shelby & Talitha, AKA the meme squad. I met Nick and Talitha during the fall of my freshman year, in Superheroes Unleashed, and Shelby the following semester, in Wonder Woman Unleashed.

I’ve never had a friend group until now unless you count, like, preschool. Which I don’t. While our schedules this semester have made finding the time to hang out very difficult, we still keep in touch via a group chat filled with memes and inside jokes. WHICH IS THE IMPORTANT THING. I love these nerds.

Five Things I’m Thankful For in 2016 

1. 

I’m thankful for The Haunted Bookshop! I’ve mentioned my love of it several times on this blog but in case you somehow missed that: The Bookshop is an indie bookstore that holds more than 50,000 used books and two cats and is my favorite place to be in Iowa City. (I spend soooo much time browsing the shelves. It’s a really calming place, too!)

Originally I kept coming back because I missed my cat! I learned the cats’ names right away but didn’t know the employees’ names for, like, a year. #priorities Then I got over my shyness and actually started talking to the people who worked there and discovered that they’re all really weird and really kind… which is something they have in common with all of my other favorite people in my life.

2.

I’m thankful for UCS, or the University Counseling Service, at my school. I started going there this spring and it’s honestly helped me so much. Between individual appointments and group counseling it’s enabled me to deal with my mental illnesses more effectively and taught me not to be so hard on myself.

Thanks to UCS, I was finally able to begin looking for meds to help with my anxiety, depression, and OCD. While nothing I’ve tried so far has actually worked, I’m further along in the recovery process than I was before, so that has to count for something.

3.

I’m thankful for the Iowa Writers’ House! This is a community organization that hosts both weekly meetings and special events designed to educate and support writers in and around the Iowa City area. I’d never been part of an IRL writing group until I joined the IWH and now I only wish I’d begun attending their meetings sooner! I love talking to and bouncing ideas off of the other members.

4.

I’m thankful for the study side of tumblr, otherwise known as studyblr. Ironically, I haven’t had time to set up my own studyblr yet because I’ve been so busy with school, but I hope to do that before the new semester begins. It’s a very supportive, positive place where you can find all sorts of advice, inspiration, motivation, et cetera to keep you excited about working hard in school.

5.

I’m thankful for my own willingness to be bolder and try some new things this year! These things include chopping my hair off, staying in Iowa City to take more classes instead of going home for the summer, seeking mental health help and admitting to my friends and family that I’ve been struggling, asking my favorite authors for writing advice even though I was so nervous I thought I was going to pass out, et cetera… all these things and more are VERY VERY GOOD THINGS. Yay, me, for not being so afraid this year. Or at least trying not to be.

Five Bloggers I’m Tagging

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.) Also, please don’t feel as thought you have to fill out this tag and post it today, especially if you don’t have the time and/or motivation: Like I said, I saved this tag for a whole entire year, so you’re more than welcome to do the same! No pressure.

-~-

What are you grateful for today? I’d love to know, no matter what country you’re from!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Be Thankful Challenge

  1. Evi says:

    Eeee thank you for the tag! This is honestly such a lovely tag, I love hearing what people have to be thankful for! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Pingback: The Be Thankful Challenge – adventuring through pages

  3. Heather says:

    These are lovely things to be thankful for! The people in our lives are so important and awesome, I think, and it’s great to take some time and talk about them. 🙂 Also, The Haunted Bookshop sounds awesome! Also, thank you very much for tagging me! I appreciate it. 😀

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

