Here Is A Post In List Format Because I Am Sick

Hey, everyone. This is just a quick update-post-thing to let you know that I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth. I’m still here, although I haven’t posted in a few days – and since I normally post every other day, I thought I should put up a post tonight before anyone freaks out. I don’t know.

Anyway, here are some things that happened lately:

  • I’ve been sick (with the flu? I think?) this past week or so.
  • Hence I have not been able to do much this week which means that I am STRESSING OUT about finals and final projects and whatnot. I know I need to work on them, and I have been, just very very slowly because I am tired and sick and do not want to do much of anything right now.
  • Hence why there have been no blog posts recently. I’ve had neither the time nor the energy to write anything that wasn’t related to school and therefore had a grade attached to it.
  • On a happier note, my final project for Prose Style is almost done! It’s a portfolio of sentences I’ve written (as well as sentences I’ve found) throughout this semester and I’m so so so happy I took the time to work on it over Thanksgiving break because now it’s just one less thing I have to worry about.
  • I’ve completed the course evaluations for about half of my classes and I’m honestly having so much fun because either I’m praising my professors and TAs for doing such a good job of teaching or I’m using this opportunity to anonymously complain about how awful they are. I LIVE FOR THIS MOMENT AT THE END OF THE SEMESTER.
  • I’m currently kind of in shock because there is one more week of school left and then it’s finals week and I don’t quite know where this semester even went.
  • I’ve been making plans for next semester in terms of study schedules and stuff like that. On one hand it’s got me all excited for new classes and new opportunities, but on the other hand I’ve seen my schedule for this fall slowly go off the rails these past few weeks so it’s a little disheartening to think about that possibly happening to these new plans. BUT ALSO a lot of my poor mental health was related to the election and also to how dark and cold it is outside so I’m hoping that I will feel different next semester? Like, hopefully not too down even as the orange monster is being inaugurated?
  • I went to another open mic night a few days ago and it was really good! It was organized by one of my friends who recently started a magazine all about feminism/LGBTQ+ issues/racial justice and it cheered me up immensely. One of the participants read an essay she wrote about growing up as a lesbian in the eighties that was partially about music and partially about AIDS. Ahhhh it was so good! I love meeting older LGBTQ+ people because it reassures me that I can actually have a decent future.
  • I had to make an Instagram account today in order to use the site for a final project in one of my journalism classes so I may end up actually posting photos there eventually? Anyway, I’ll let you know if that actually becomes a Thing.

I feel like there’s one very major thing that I’m forgetting? Oh well, if I remember it later I’ll be sure to add it. What have you been up to? Whatever it is that you’ve been doing, I hope you’re not sick like me because that would suck…

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here Is A Post In List Format Because I Am Sick

  1. orphu44 says:

    Get well soon! I hope you manage to get lots of recuperative rest without stressing too much about it.
    Also, you’re the complete opposite of me when it comes to course evaluations. Half of the course evaluations I’ve gotten I haven’t even filled out. One TA handed out Venn diagrams with sections labelled ‘awesome’ and ‘crappy’ and I just wrote in the middle ‘I’ve never had any labs to compare it to,’ and then, because that looked kind of incomplete on its own, added, ‘seemed good.’
    I was going to say I’d follow you if you started using Instagram, before realizing I’d probably need an Instagram account to do that, but I’d follow you in SPIRIT.

  2. Evi says:

    Get well soon!

  3. matttblack42 says:

    I too have a cold/flu right now, and yes it does suck. It’s annoying, because just a week ago, I got a flu shot specifically so I could avoid this experience.

    On the bright side, I know that the odds of me getting sick during winter break are lower now, because something something immune system or whatever. Back in October I went home for a 4-day weekend and spent the whole time with a cold. Such a waste.

    “BUT ALSO a lot of my poor mental health was related to the election and also to how dark and cold it is outside so I’m hoping that I will feel different next semester?”

    I feel like I get this. I often get frustrated with people who don’t care about politics, but I have to admit they seem a lot happier than those who do. And I feel like my motivation for schoolwork drops around November/December, because not only is it dark and cold, but you know it’s only going to get darker and colder for the rest of the year. Sure, January/February are the coldest months, but at least by that point each day comes with a few more minutes of sunlight, and you know that spring is just around the corner. (Oh, how I miss Spring.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes! I like the beginning of the school year because, IDK, I love fall and it seems like everyone else is excited to start school again too, but at the same time… the spring semester is such a good time TOO because at least the hours of daylight increase with each new day and the end of the semester isn’t nearly so dark and gloomy!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

