A Snowy Day In Iowa City

iowa-city-snowy-day-1iowa-city-snowy-day-3iowa-city-snowy-day-2iowa-city-snowy-day-4iowa-city-snowy-day-5The first snowfall of this winter was this past Sunday.* I woke up to a world that was brilliantly white, with still more snowflakes flying and flurrying down past my window.

*Shh, yes, I know that it isn’t technically winter yet. But it already feels like it, because this is Iowa we’re talking about. I took off my gloves for ten seconds today because I couldn’t text with them on and by the time I’d sent my quick message I couldn’t bend my fingers because they were so numb from the cold.

Sunday was also a really sucky mental health day so, after feeling sorry for myself for a while, I attempted to salvage what was left of the day by going for a walk. I wanted to stretch my legs, clear my head, get some fresh air.

Also, I really really really wanted to do some winter photography! I’d borrowed a camera from the school of journalism and since all of their equipment is extremely nice, I was looking forward to trying some snowy photography with it.

And while this little adventure didn’t magically solve all my problems, that’s OK, because I didn’t expect it to. It was nice to have something to take my mind off of, well, the state of my mind. It reminded me that I haven’t done much photography this semester or even this year in general. I need to get back into that.

I took about one hundred and fifty photos while I was outside and posted twenty or so of the best ones on Facebook. I’ve included the favorites of my favorites here since I haven’t published any photography-related posts here in a long time and I thought this blog deserved to have some. I hope you enjoyed them!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Snowy Day In Iowa City

  1. I hope things get better. Hopefully, next year will bring along happiness. Anyway, nice pictures.☺

  2. Evi says:

    These are such lovely photos! Snow is so nice to see- sorry that Sunday was such a sucky day, but at least the snow was distracting. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Wow, these are beautiful! I especially love the lamppost and the berries. They just look fantastic. I’m glad you had this cool opportunity to take care of yourself. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

