Final Thoughts On My Fall 2016 Classes

It’s hard to believe that today was the last day of the semester! I have one sit-down final, one take-home final, and three final projects due next week and then it will be time for me to head home.

Since I always do a recap at the end of each semester with my thoughts about the classes I took, that’s what today’s post will be about.

Prose Style

If you read any of my monthly class updates lately, you’ll know that this has been by far my favorite course of the semester! I adore both my professor and the subject. I’ve seen such an improvement in my sentences over the past few months, both in terms of my skill in writing them and my knowledge of which kinds to use when and what certain styles of sentences can do for your writing style overall.

While this class was frequently challenging, it never once stopped being fun. Usually even my most favorite classes stress me out at times and make me question why I even liked them in the first place, but not this class. It’s a very cool and useful subject, too – I honestly think Prose Style should be a required course in the English department!

Foundations of the English Major

Thinking about this class makes me feel as though my brain is about to explode… but in a good way, don’t worry! I love love love the readings we did, as well as the professor’s teaching style, but surveying eight hundred years’ worth of literature in the English language IS pretty overwhelming, you have to admit.

I had the same professor for a class on Shakespeare this summer and I’ll definitely miss him and his weird sense of humor. I wish I could take more of his classes but I’m like 99% sure that he tends to teach lit from the Renaissance through the eighteenth century and I’ve already taken most (all?) of the required courses for that time period.

Media Shift

OH MY GOD I JUST READ MY FIRST POST ABOUT MY FALL 2016 CLASSES FROM WAY BACK IN SEPTEMBER AND I WAS SO EXCITED FOR THIS CLASS LMAO RIP ME.

I hated this class. So, so much.

But it’s (almost) over! All I have left to do is turn in three mini-essays for the take-home exam. I think the subject matter – how print culture and media culture have changed over time – is super important but I wasn’t a fan of the teacher and was, frankly, relieved when he canceled the last two weeks of lectures (!!!!) because we’d run out of material to study. GOOD RIDDANCE, MY DUDE.

Journalistic Reporting & Writing

This course and its counterpart listed below KICKED MY BUTT this semester. I’m glad these courses are a required part of my journalism degree and yet there was frequently so much work involved that I wasn’t always sure how I would get it all done on time! I think I have a pretty good grasp on AP style now and I’m hopefully THIS MUCH CLOSER to my dream job of reporting for National Geographic, so that’s cool.

Introduction to Multimedia Storytelling

Since I’m not taking any classes in multimedia production next semester,* I’m looking forward to not having to lug bags and boxes of heavy, expensive equipment to and fro! Otherwise, though, I’ll really miss this class, because we got to work with some pretty cool software and tech. I’m proud of the audio/visual pieces I produced in this class!

*No spoilers, but I’m taking one course on journalism and the law, and another on writing cross-culturally! Soooo excited!

-~-

Has your winter break begun yet?! Tell me all about your classes this past semester!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

