A 2016-17 Winter Break To-Do List

Hi, everyone! It’s almost winter break! AHHH I’M SO EXCITED. Here are some of the things I plan to do then.

1. Clean my room

My one and only sit-down final is on Tuesday morning, but the bus home doesn’t leave until Thursday night. And since I reaaaally need to clean my dorm room, I’m going to attempt that gigantic project in the few days between my final and my trip home. That Depression MessTM feeling, am I right?

am motivated by the thought that, because I won’t be there for a month, my dorm will actually stay clean for a while! Sometimes I get so overwhelmed by the thought of having to clean everything all over again just a few days or weeks later when I already have very little energy to do anything right now, but I really really want to just buckle down and take care of this mess.

2. Catch up on my 2016 Goodreads reading challenge

I’m twenty-eight books behind and yet still confident in my ability to catch up! I’m a very stubborn person who doesn’t like to admit defeat, especially not where books are concerned. This year has been very difficult for me in terms of depression affecting my reading habits, but I’m still determined to try my hardest to catch up. I have a bunch of half-finished books on my “currently reading” shelf on Goodreads” and, between those books and a huge stack of comic books + graphic novels, I should be set for the rest of this year.

3. Write and schedule some blog posts

OH MY GOD I WILL HAVE SO MUCH TIME TO WRITE OVER BREAK. Mind = blown. I miss writing for fun, so I hope to have several super intense writing days in late December and early January.

4. Get a head start on the reading for the spring semester

I actually JUST emailed my spring 2017 professors to ask about reading lists! I don’t plan to read my textbooks, but I would like to at least begin reading some of the novels and short works of nonfiction that were mentioned as possible assigned texts in the course descriptions.

5. Start a studyblr

I meant to make one before the fall semester began, but then I got too busy and have had like no time these past few months to sit down and create one. So I’m super excited to set one up for the coming semester!

6. Watch some movies 

I’m going to see Rogue One with my brother the weekend after we both get back from school, hopefully! I would also like to see Arrival because I’ve heard amazing things about it. (No spoilers, please – I’ve also heard that it’s a film you should go into 100% unspoiled, so please don’t ruin it for me.) And I have to rewatch Carol one or two or fifty times, OF COURSE. Vintage Christmas lesbians!

7. Begin my 2017 Goodreads reading challenge

LISTEN I’M SO EXCITED TO TELL YOU A THING ABOUT MY READING PLANS IN 2017… but you’ll have to wait until 2017 to find out! I hope 2017 is a more successful reading year than this year has been!

-~-

How do you plan to spend winter break?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A 2016-17 Winter Break To-Do List

  1. Mom says:

    #8: Give your mom a big, big, hug.

  2. Miriam Joy says:

    Well, I partly have to spend mine doing fun things like writing the first draft of my dissertation, writing and polishing an assessed long essay, writing a DIFFERENT essay (which is shorter), and working on a bunch of Old Irish translation. Because it wouldn’t be Cambridge if they let us have actual breaks. But I’ve also reorganised my bookshelves, I plan to try and see Charley at some point, and I’m hoping to write a new draft of the first Death & Fairies book. Also, I’m going to see Rogue One this week with my dad, brother, and a friend. I was hoping to see Arrival and Fantastic Beasts at some point, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to find anyone to go with and since the cinema’s not exactly nearby, I’m not sure if I want to go alone.

  3. I, too, REALLY WOULD LIKE TO CLEAN MY ROOM. The scattered bags are actually becoming a bit worrying. I also hope to a) get ahead with blogging and b) get back into commenting, because I’ve been kind of bad at both of those over the last two months. It’s nice to have a bit of free time! And ROGUE ONE YES I MUST SEE IT. *nods*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Lmao I didn’t even get my entire dorm room cleaned before I had to leave for break… but I did manage to get a lot done, so that’s gone! Although now my bedroom at home is a mess just from me living in it… oh well!

      What did you think of Rogue One?!

      • I’ve only tidied my room a little haha but I think doing some is definitely better than nothing! Mm, I enjoyed Rogue One but I didn’t adore it? I was a little confused at times by the plot but I just kinda went with it and had a fun trip to the cinema. 🙂

    • nevillegirl says:

      That’s fair! I did think the plot moved a bit slowly, but but but the cinematography and the music were just GORGEOUS and the last ten minutes or so had me going oHHH MY GOD ARE THEY REALLY GONNA DO THAT OMG THEY REALLY DID /THAT/.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

