Why Do I Live Where The Air Hurts My Face?

A few weeks ago I was trying to remember what last winter was like and eventually came to the conclusion that I must have misremembered how much it sucked.

For heaven’s sake, I was still wearing T-shirts in November! And yes, we had an unusually warm fall (#thanksbutnothanksglobalwarming), but then the cold set in and it honestly didn’t seem that bad.

When I venture outside now, it’s as the meme says: Why do I live where the air hurts my face?

It’s supposed to be fifteen below zero later this week. I saw a map the other day with various Asian and European countries superimposed on a map of North America according to similar climate… and I have no idea how factual that map was, or how they determined which country corresponded with which state or province, but Iowa, the Dakotas, and a huge stretch of central Canada were all labeled “Russia” and… yes.

I wore three pairs of pants the other day. If I only wear one pair the front of my legs become numb. I’m considering wearing my ski mask even though it looks weird because IT’S JUST SO COLD OUTSIDE. If I take my gloves off for so much as fifteen seconds my whole hand goes numb and I can’t feel whatever it is that I’m touching.

Oh, Iowa. I’ve forgotten what it’s like to be able to stroll outside without needing to bundle yourself up in so many layers. This summer seems so far away, so long ago. It’s so cold and dark outside.

AKA the perfect weather to drink lots and lots of tea and hot chocolate.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why Do I Live Where The Air Hurts My Face?

  1. Cynthia says:

    CALIFORNIA IS SO COLD TOOOOO It’s a lot colder than it was the last few years. At least it’s raining, which is nice (*cries at drought*)… Like I want to live somewhere where it snows but it’s going to be so cold T_T

  2. Mom says:

    Not to be a downer, but the air hurts your face here too. See you in a couple of days!!

  3. matttblack42 says:

    Ha! Sucks to be you. I, on the other hand, live in the nice, warm climate of upstate New York, where it has only snowed six out of the past seven days.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m sure my brother can sympathise — it was -22°C in Calgary a week or two ago. Fortunately for him, he’s now in London with us, where today it’s 9°C. Cloudy and grey and miserable, but at least his breath is no longer turning to icicles in his beard, which he said happened whenever he went outside for more than ten minutes.

  5. Evi says:

    WOW THAT’S COLD. It’s getting semi-chilly down here, but I can’t compare it to negative degrees, really. But it is cold. AND YES HOT CHOCOLATE WEATHER IS THE BEST.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

