Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2016 | Writing, The Election, & “Moana”

Hello, everyone! Today is the first day of winter! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from September twenty-second through December twentieth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Fall

rick-riordan-at-the-englertTaken in October during the Iowa City Book Festival

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Fall

“How should we be able to forget those ancient myths that are at the beginning of all peoples, the myths about dragons that at the last moment turn into princesses; perhaps all the dragons of our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us once beautiful and brave. Perhaps everything terrible is in its deepest being something helpless that wants help from us.

So you must not be frightened if a sadness rises up before you larger than any you have ever seen; if a restiveness, like light and cloudshadows, passes over your hands and over all you do. You must think that something is happening with you, that life has not forgotten you, that it holds you in its hand; it will not let you fall. Why do you want to shut out of your life any uneasiness, any miseries, or any depressions? For after all, you do not know what work these conditions are doing inside you.”

– Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke

I read this wonderful little collection of letters in October, I think. It’s actually not the best book I read this fall – some sections were kind of uneven in terms of quality – but it definitely has the best quotes! As a writer who struggles with mental illness, I found the above quote very relatable.

This Fall In One Word

Crushing.

Most Popular Review This Fall

That would have to be my review of No Plot? No Problem! – A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty! Just a few days after I posted it, I backed out of NaNoWriMo at basically the last minute, but I’m still really glad I read this book because it gave me all sorts of ideas and advice for next year!

Top Two Books I Read This Fall

  1. I want to shove a copy of Scott McCloud’s Understanding Comics into the hands of anyone who has ever expressed an interest in comic books and graphic novels! I already know that this is a book I’ll be returning to often.
  2. 100 Years: Wisdom From Famous Writers on Every Year of Your Life by Joshua Prager is a brilliant little book filled with quotes that correspond to each year of one’s life from zero to one hundred! I definitely need to revisit this book many times as well, particularly after each birthday.

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Winter

  1. The trailer for A Monster Calls looked amazing… so now I want to watch the movie, which will be released on the twenty-third of this month in the US. First I want to read the book, though!
  2. I’m working on a SUPER SPECIAL BLOGGY THING for February and I can’t wait until you get to see it!

Three New Obsessions This Fall

  1. My roommate loves anime so she convinced me to watch some with her! We’ve been working our way through Ouran High School Host Club, which is silly, cute, and a welcome distraction on sucky days.
  2. I mean, I’m not entirely sure this counts as a NEW obsession, but my roommate and I have been spending part of each weekend watching all of the Marvel and DC movies in chronological order. She hasn’t seen very many of them to begin with and I’ve never watched them in that order, so it’s been on my mind a lot.
  3. I began using Todoist in order to be more productive and better manage my time. I always lose my paper to-do lists so I’m really glad that everything I need to do is now listed on both my phone and my laptop!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Fall

  1. I’m soooo glad Post-Election Day Feelings was my most popular post from these past few months because it reassures me that I’m not the only one who is scared for and worried about the future of this country.
  2. On a far happier note, everyone seemed to enjoy Top 10 Literary Cat Names | Author Edition.
  3. In Half A Dozen Years Of Blogging (!!!), I celebrated my sixth anniversary as a blogger!
  4. So I guess people are really into reading about possible fictional names to give their pets? Because Top 10 Literary Cat Names | Character Edition was also very popular. THANKS, GUYS.
  5. In addition to creating a bucket list for the next year of my life, I discussed my hopes and fears about turning twenty in 20 In 20 | My Birthday & A Bucket List.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Fall

  1. As someone who recently had to create an Instagram account for a school journalism project and is now considering joining #bookstagram, I appreciated A Bookstagram Journey from Mawa Mahima @ The Controversies. (Also, WOW, Mawa: I swear that your blog gets prettier every time I see it! You picked out such a lovely theme.)
  2. I loved Open Letter to Donald Trump, which was written by my IRL friend Alex Penland @ The Evening Ramble.
  3. Although I have not yet read The Illuminae Files series by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, I adored Emily @ Loony Literate’s post Gemina Galactic Doughnuts – Recipe + Photos because books + FOOD = perfection. EMILY, PLS COME OVER TO AMERICA AND MAKE SPARKLY BLUE DONUTS FOR ME.
  4. Heather @ Sometimes I’m A Story posted Do House Systems in Fiction Appeal to You? which was AMAZING although, as always, I had trouble deciding which of her posts I loved most this quarter! Everything she writes is on point.
  5. Evi @ Adventuring Through Pages created the wonderful post The ULTIMATE Feel-Happy Book Binge-Read List and I couldn’t be more grateful. It came just at the right time, when finals and thoughts about the election were crushing me.

Five Things That Happened This Fall

  1. I joined a writing group, the Iowa Writers’ House. I LOVE IT SO MUCH!
  2. I did group therapy through my school’s University Counseling Services and it was very helpful. I’ll be doing that again this spring.
  3. I experienced approximately 45600798 different emotions about the presidential election. Initially I was very optimistic and now I’m just scared and sad.
  4. During the Iowa City Book Festival in October, I attended a Rick Riordan event that was one of the stops on his book tour for The Hammer of Thor. I also met Roxane Gay that same week and had the opportunity to read some of my writing to her – which was amazing, if a little nerve-wracking. Finally, in November I had the chance to hear Lois Lowry speak. I now have autographed copies from all three authors, but meeting Lowry – which I have yet to post about, oops – was probably the most special because I got to tell her that her books have been a huge influence on my own writing.
  5. I joined a cooking club at my school! I miss having a kitchen, so this is a fun way to spend my Sunday afternoons.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Fall

1. “Light of the Seven” (Game of Thrones, season six) – Ramin Djawadi

I love listening to music while reading, writing, studying, et cetera but sometimes… I try song after song and album after album only to find that nothing puts me in the mood to be inspired and get things done! Well, this has become my go-to song for those moments. It’s gorgeous but not too loud, which means I don’t become distracted from what I’m working on. Perfect!

2. “How Far I’ll Go” (Moana) – Alessia Cara

THIS SONG MAKES ME CRY. This version, Auli’i Cravalho’s version, and so on and so forth. Honestly, I spent most of Moana alternately happy-crying and sad-crying. PLEASE GO SEE THIS MOVIE IT’S LIKE A GIANT WARM HUG AND I’M PRETTY SURE WE ALL NEED THAT AFTER THIS TERRIBLE YEAR.

3. “Guardians of the Whills Suite” (Rogue One) – Michael Giacchino

This is such a lovely piece! Michael Giacchino did a wonderful job and the entire score sounds very John Williams-ish which makes me feel confident that if for some reason Williams were unable to continue composing music for the series, there would be someone magnificently qualified to follow in his footsteps.

4. “We Know The Way” (Moana) – Lin-Manuel Miranda & Opetaia Foa’i

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All I’m going to say is that this song was on repeat as I worked on my final major project for Journalistic Writing & Reporting. I must have listened to it close to a hundred times.

5. “Palace” – Hayley Kiyoko

Kiyoko’s new EP, Citrine, was released on September 30 – which reminds me, I still need to post a review of it! Anyway, I loved the entire thing but I do have my favorite tracks, including this one.

6. “Relieve Him of His Wand / Newt Releases The Thunderbird / Jacob’s Farewell” (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them) – James Newton Howard

Ughhh I’m so far behind on my reviews for EVERYTHING! Still gotta write up something about this movie. Anyway, I absolutely adored Fantastic Beasts, which was surprising because I hadn’t had very high expectations for it! It’s good studying/writing music!

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this fall? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2016 | Writing, The Election, & “Moana”

  1. Evi says:

    Ahhh I’m so glad you liked the post! ❤ This fall was kind of sucky, but bless the good things still out there. I'm so excited to see Moana and Rogue One, ahhhh! And yes oh my goodness the FBAWTFT soundtrack is aMAZING.

  2. Heather says:

    Oooh I look forward to seeing the super special bloggy thingie! Also, it is so cool that you got to meet Lois Lowry and I’m kind of jealous! I think it was really cool when SON finally came out and it was like my mind was blown in interesting ways and just… yeah. I’m so glad you got to see her! And also, thanks for mentioning my post. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoy the discussions!

    • nevillegirl says:

      I look forward to it as well! 😉

      I still can’t believe that really happened! I was probably SO awkward when I talked to her because I was overwhelmed and nervous, gah.

      Of course! 😀 Your blog is one of my favorites.

  3. Shanti says:

    I really liked how honest you were about your feelings and how hard school is this fall, those were some of the posts I most appreciated. I’ve been busy, especially because my parents went away: uni applications, lots of books, lots of extracurricular stuff, and all in all I’m really glad that it’s the holidays. Thanks for the update. I watched Moana in a cinema, which is the first time I’ve been to a cinema in India, which was AMAZING, and I went with a lot of seventh graders and my friends, and I generally think it’s utterly stellar, if the narrative has flaws (e.g. the kakamora have no point)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awww, thanks! It really means a lot to hear that from people. 🙂 It’s been pretty hard for me to open up about that, so I’m glad that it seems to have paid off and is helping me + others.

      Yeah! I love watching movies in actual movie theaters. It just makes the whole experience more intense and emotional, doesn’t it? 😀

  4. themagicviolinist says:

    I’M OBSEEEEESSSSED WITH THE “Moana” SOUNDTRACK. I’m so glad you like it!!! :’)

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

