Things I’m Looking Forward To In 2017

I made a blogging schedule a few weeks ago and “write a post about the things you’re looking forward to in 2017 so that you feel less overwhelmed and sad about how awful this year has been” was planned for the twenty-seventh of December, so I’m going to go ahead and write that post, even though today just proved that 2016 is clearly now making a last-ditch effort to be as shitty as it possibly can be.

Here are the things I’m looking forward to in the year to come:

1. Beauty and the Beast

AHHHHH MY CHILDHOOD HERE I COME. This movie comes out during my spring break and I’m honestly so excited for it because A) it was my entire childhood and B) it should be a great way to spend my hard-earned free time after several weeks at school!

2. Doctor Who series ten

I just know that in a few months from now I’ll be complaining about it and saying, “Doctor Who was honestly a MISTAKE,” but… in the meantime, allow me to be excited about it. Plus, it gives me something to look forward to each week, something to motivate me to get through the week. I’m planning to watch it with friends, too, which will also be good for me since I tend to spend my free time holed up in my room by myself which is probably not the smartest thing to do because then I feel lonely and sad. Oops.

3. Studying abroad in Ireland

This item is not yet set in stone, but I hope I am accepted to the Irish Writing Program that my school holds in Dublin each summer! I was accepted to this year’s program but ultimately turned it down because I thought my writing skills wouldn’t be on par with everyone else’s. I feel ready – more ready? as ready as I’ll ever be? – now and I can’t wait to explore another city and study writing all summer!

4. Wonder Woman

I have been anxious to see this since 2015 and I’m SO GLAD it’s almost here! I can’t believe it! It comes out while I’ll (hopefully) be away, so I’ll have to find a movie theater in Dublin where I can enjoy it. Like, you have no idea how thrilled I am for this movie. Zack Snyder wasn’t even involved in this project, so it should be GOOD.

5. Star Wars Episode VIII

New Star Wars movies every year until 2020? I am LIVING. No, like literally. I often think about a post I once saw that was like, “It doesn’t matter if other people think your reasons for living are frivolous, because the only thing that matters is that you’re still here.” I frequently feel burned out at the end of each semester, and winter – the holidays, especially – is a difficult time for me, so YES to a movie I can look forward to.

-~-

You know, I’d love to say that I have no idea why three-fifths of the things on this list are movies. But I do. As much as I miss how much I used to read, and as much as I hope to get back into reading with all my old love for it, I also know that that will take some time.

And I just haven’t been as active in the bookish world as usual lately, anyway: I honestly couldn’t tell you which of my favorite authors are releasing books next year because I haven’t bothered to check. I didn’t get around to reading many of the books I was excited for in 2016, even the ones by big-name authors, so… yeah.

The things I’m excited for will no doubt push me to do some reading, for what it’s worth. Reading the relevant comic books? That totally counts. Working my way through the assigned reading list of Irish classics for the study abroad program? That counts, too.

What are you looking forward to in 2017?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I’m Looking Forward To In 2017

  1. THERE ARE SO MANY GOOD FILMS COMING OUT NEXT YEAR. Im really excited for hidden figures

  2. Mahima says:

    These are brilliant goals (I too am looking forward to watching Doctor Who!). I’ve yet to jump on the Star Wars bandwagon, so perhaps with all these new movies coming out I’ll get onto that soon next year.

    I can relate to the sentiment of not reading much this year. Last year I found it difficult to find time to read because of how busy I was, but now that I’ve got round the whole too-busy-to-read thing I’ve almost fallen out of it. Sitting down with a book (instead of all of the anime I’m watching and am super excited about) is getting harder and harder. Although I love reading and it reminds me of the times when I could just sit down with a book and get swallowed up in it, finding that is a lot rarer.

    But that’s fine, because there are other mediums to explore. Like your love of movies, I’m exploring stories through anime (god, Engie, if you ever decide to watch anime please come to me I will give you the best recommendations) and through theatre! If anything the few times I’ve been to the theatre this year has taught me how incredibly good a medium it is for storytelling. I love the theatre and its function in society still, and I can’t wait to watch more next year.

  3. Evi says:

    Yay to Beauty and the Beast and Doctor Who and all the Star Wars films!! (Also have fun in Ireland if you go!) I’m especially excited for the movie Hidden Figures, which comes out in January- SPACE LADIES YES.

  4. Miriam Joy says:

    I’m hoping to visit Ireland again this summer, specifically the more easterly side (e.g. closer to Dublin than the Burren / west coast stuff I’ve visited before), so if the timing works, maybe we could meet up while you’re doing the writing thing there? That would be so cool. 🙂

  5. themagicviolinist says:

    Good luck with study abroad! 🙂 That sounds so cool and like so much fun.

    OMG so many movies next year. Yes yes yes to all of those. I also can’t wait for “Hidden Figures,” “Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 2,” and “Wonder.”

  6. Heather says:

    Oooh, I hope you get accepted to your writing school in Ireland. 🙂 I’m also really looking forward to seeing Beauty and the Beast, and I’d also like to see Hidden Figures! I know it’s already come out, but I haven’t seen it yet so there you go.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

