Winter Break Recap | 2016-17 Edition

Before we get too far into the semester, I’d like to reflect on winter break. Since I’ve been back at school for one week already, today seems like a good time to do that!

Winter break left me feeling… satisfied? Yes, I think that’s the right word. Overall I felt happier during break than I did in the weeks leading up to it. I’m proud of what I accomplished over break, too.

By the end of last semester, I desperately needed a break. I felt burnt out because of schoolwork, as I usually do, but I also felt emotionally exhausted as a result of the election. It was hard to find a reason to get out of bed some days, which only made me feel even more stressed out because I had so much studying to do that I couldn’t afford to fall even one day behind!

Break, and all that I did during it, helped me to recharge. There was so much that I wanted to do in my time off, and I am happy to say that I accomplished most of it! I read and wrote and blogged a lot. (I prescheduled SO MANY POSTS, you guys. I’m excited.) I filled out scholarship applications. I hung out with my family. I went to the movies.

In comparison, last winter break was not nearly as successful. I spent most of that break either watching mindless YouTube videos or endlessly scrolling through social media. I stayed up too late and slept in for hours. I didn’t really do anything all break, but it didn’t feel relaxing either. It felt like I’d wasted my time.

I wasn’t productive 100% of the time this break, either, but I was productive more often than not. Some days I didn’t get much done, but it was because I needed a break – a break from everything I was trying to do during winter break! I didn’t check everything off my to-do list, but I did check most of it off. I felt satisfied knowing that after, for instance, generating several thousand words of writing, I could hang out with my cousins on Christmas Eve and not feel bad about how I spent my time that day. Because it had been time well spent. Productively spent.

Winter break was not without its setbacks. Some days I just could not focus on whatever it was I was trying to do. Some days I hit the lowest points I’ve had all year. I think I dealt with it all the best I could, though, which is really all that matters at the end of the day. Aaand I still managed to write a ridiculous amount of words. And read a ridiculous number of books.

All in all, much better than the excessive indulgence in social media and the endless late nights of last winter break. I hope your winter break was just as enjoyable! How did you spend the past few weeks?

Books I Read

  • Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
  • Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery” by Miles Hyman
  • Baba Yaga’s Assistant by Marika McCoola
  • The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
  • Food Play by Saxton Freymann
  • Soppy by Philippa Rice
  • Poorly Drawn Lines by Reza Farazmand
  • Bone, Vol. 3: Eyes of the Storm by Jeff Smith
  • Satchel Paige: Striking Out Jim Crow by James Sturm
  • The Oven by Sophie Goldstein
  • Hinges, Book One: Clockwork City by Meredith McClaren
  • The Library Gingerbread Man by Dotti Enderle
  • Dubliners by James Joyce
  • Cat Person by Seo Kim
  • Alone Forever: The Singles Collection by Liz Prince
  • Groot by Jeff Loveness
  • A Contract With God by Will Eisner
  • Maybelle the Cable Car by Virginia Lee Burton
  • Girl in Dior by Annie Goetzinger
  • New York: The Big City by Will Eisner
  • Best Shot in the West: The Adventures of Nat Love by Patricia C. McKissack
  • Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown
  • Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown
  • Darth Vader and Friends by Jeffrey Brown
  • Wodney Wat’s Wobot by Helen Lester
  • Robert Louis Stevenson’s Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Alan Grant
  • Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov
  • Star Wars, Vol. 1: Skywalker Strikes by Jason Aaron
  • Black Panther, Vol. 1: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • Wonder Woman, Vol. 4: War by Brian Azzarello
  • Goodnight Darth Vader by Jeffrey Brown
  • The Black Book of Colors by Menena Cottin

Movies & TV I Watched

  • Rogue One
  • “The Return of Doctor Mysterio” (Doctor Who series ten Christmas special)
  • Carmilla season three
  • Hidden Figures
  • A Monster Calls
About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Break Recap | 2016-17 Edition

  1. flexireads says:

    Woah! You’ve read alot of books during the break! 😲 I hope you had a wonderful time with your family during the break just as much as you enjoyed reading your books! 😄

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

