The 2016/2017 Tag

Hi, everyone! I haven’t done a tag in months, so I decided to steal one from Em @ LyfWithEm. It’s not too late for a tag about 2016 and 2017, is it? I didn’t find it until well after New Year’s, otherwise I would have posted it earlier.

This tag was created by Davide @ The Guy Who Always Said No, who wrote and published the original questions in Italian. My poor computer did its best to translate but since I don’t think that translation came out very well, I hope Davide won’t mind that I’ve rephrased some of them so that they make more sense in English!

Enjoy!

Describe your 2016 in three words.

Overwhelming, busy, and complicated.

Name two people who characterized your 2016.

The first is Orphu @ A Mirror Made of Words! SHE IS THE BEST AND I LOVE HER VERY MUCH. She listens, encourages, and cheers me up when I feel down and, as cheesy as this might sound, I feel like big news in my life hasn’t really happened until I tell her. She’s so sweet and thoughtful and kind. We became closer than ever in 2016 and I swear at least half of our many conversations via texting and Skype included the phrase, “When you are going to come visit me?”

My therapist also exerted a huge influence over my 2016. I started seeing her in February (March?) of last year and since then I feel that I’ve made tremendous progress thanks to her. She’s very good at challenging me to try my hardest and step outside of my comfort zone without making me freak out and become overwhelmed.

 What was the most beautiful place you visited in 2016?

I didn’t travel very much last year, so I’m pretty much limited to mentioning places in Iowa, Illinois, or Indiana. I think I’ll go with… Hancher Auditorium? It’s a performance hall at my school that was destroyed in a flood several years ago and was not fully rebuilt until this year. I attended the first concert held after its reopening and it’s such a gorgeous building: Huge, brilliantly white, sparkling, curved to mirror the river nearby, et cetera. I can see it from the window of one of the study lounges in my dorm across the river and it looks so pretty at night when it’s all lit up, especially when the lights reflect off the water!

What was the most delicious food you tasted in 2016?

This is the perfect tag for me because FOOOOOD! I’m going to have to say that the pie shake I had last winter was the most delicious thing I ate all year. It’s basically a slice of pie blended into a milkshake and it’s just… it’s an experience.

iowa city vigil for orlandoWhat event, large or small, left its mark on you in 2016?

Depressing as it may be, I can’t decide whether the Orlando nightclub shooting or the US presidential election affected me more in 2016. I wish I could truthfully say that something positive impacted me more greatly than anything else in 2016, but that is unfortunately not the case.

I attended a candlelight vigil for Orlando that was, I think, a turning point in my life because it showed me just how strong the network of LGBTQ+ community support is in Iowa City. It was a terribly sad event, but going there made me feel less alone. So maybe some good did come of it after all?

I can’t seem to spin the election into a positive light at all, though, no matter how hard I try. 2016 was rough in general but I feel that the results of the election put a damper on my entire year. I still feel kind of numb.

rick-riordan-at-the-englertWhat was the best purchase you made in 2016?

Definitely my ticket to the Iowa City leg of Rick Riordan’s book tour for The Hammer of Thor this fall, which included a signed copy of the novel! I bought that ticket months and months in advance, as soon as I heard he was coming to my town, and I don’t regret a single penny of the $32.44 I spent on it. It was an amazing evening: I somehow snagged a front-row seat (!!!), laughed my way through his hilarious presentation on everything he’s been up to, and even got to ask him a question about writing!

What is one place you want to visit in 2017?

I want to study abroad in Dublin this summer as part of my school’s Irish Writing Program! I’ve been hard at work on my application to go there and I’m actually really nervous that I’ll be turned down! I was accepted to the program last year but ultimately chose not to go because I felt I wouldn’t be ready for it – that my writing wasn’t on par with everyone else’s and that I would find the coursework overwhelming, not beneficial.

It is a six-week program with two components: A writing workshop and a course on Irish lit. There is also plenty of time built in to explore the city on our own and western/northern Ireland with our group. I really, really hope I get to go! I’ve never traveled overseas before.

What is a food that you want to eat in 2017?

See, I told you this was my kind of tag! DAVIDE, I’M GLAD YOU HAVE YOUR PRIORITIES IN ORDER. I ate a lot of yummy falafel last year and I’d like to continue that habit in 2017. Falafel and I, we have an understanding.

List three good intentions for 2017.

I’m going to cheat just a little bit and list off my New Year’s resolutions, which I already talked about here:

  1. Set aside time to hang out friends
  2. Take my Her Campus responsibilities more seriously
  3. Be kinder and gentler with myself and with my mental health

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

What people, events, things, et cetera characterized your 2016? Which of those things would you like to see in 2017 and which would you prefer to leave behind? And why?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 2016/2017 Tag

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    YES I WANT YOU TO GO ON THE IRISH COURSE BECAUSE I’M HOPING TO DO SOME TRAVELLING IN IRELAND IN THE SUMMER TOO AND WE COULD COINCIDE AND IT WOULD BE RAD

    Although I’m not planning to study while I do it because I do more than enough studying during term time and my summers are strictly for pretending university doesn’t exist / hoping it’s over soon.

  2. mattblack42 says:

    To second Miriam, I also want you to go on the Irish course, for there is a five percent chance that I too will be visiting Ireland this summer, which would lead to a .1% chance of us bumping into each other in real life, as opposed to the .001% chance of us bumping into each other now. And besides, Ireland’s awesome. They’re one of the most environmentally friendly countries in the world, plus the leprechaun population over there is so much higher than it is here. It’s insane.

  3. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, thank you for tagging me! (And also for your naming me as someone who characterized your 2016, which I was so overwhelmed by I almost didn’t mention at all.)
    I’m jumping on the ‘please do go to Ireland because I have plans to be there too’ bandwagon, but mine’s more tenuous because it’s ‘Germany with a chance of travelling elsewhere’ rather than actually Ireland. But also the Irish Writing Program just sounds really great & I hope you get to go!
    Also good good-intentions, I approve.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

