10 2016 Releases I Can’t Believe I Didn’t Read Last Year

2016 was a rather lackluster reading year for me, as was 2015 before it. Today I’m going to tell you all about some books that were published in 2016 that I spent MONTHS or even YEARS anticipating… only to, um, not actually read them in 2016. Blame college for making me so busy. Blame depression for making it hard to find the energy to do anything beyond what was required of me in college.

I resolve to make 2017 better, but only time will tell. One thing I know for sure is that I want to read each and every one of the books on this list within the year. (I read #8 in early January, as a matter of fact!) Whenever I don’t know what to read, I’m going to revisit this list and continue to do so until I’ve finished.

I was and still am truly excited for all of these books: It’s just a question of finding the motivation and energy to stick with these books and not become discouraged if it takes me a long time to read them because I’m so busy and overwhelmed with everything else that’s going on in my life.

Enjoy!

the raven king1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

This novel comes first not only because it was one of the first published last year, but also because it was my most-anticipated book of 2016! The previous books in the Raven Cycle have consistently been amazing, so I have high hopes for The Raven King, the final book in the series.

the hidden oracle2. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I actually started reading this in the summer and then DNFed it not because I disliked it, but because my brain was in a Bad PlaceTM and I knew I wouldn’t be able to focus on any story at the moment! I did love how sassy Apollo was and I’ve heard lots of good things about the bi rep in this novel so I’m looking forward to picking this novel back up again someday!

the hammer of thor3. The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

My college town (Iowa City, IA) was one of the stops on Riordan’s book tour for his latest novel, The Hammer of Thor, so I acquired a signed copy last fall… which I still haven’t read! Oops. I have to admit that I’ve somewhat been avoiding it because it’s been so long since I read The Sword of Summer that I barely remember the plot! I know I need a refresher on the series but gah, I’m just so lazy.

stars-above4. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

I know I’ll be in for a treat when I read this because although four of the nine stories contained in Stars Above have been published before, I’ve never read ANY of them! I’m really excited to learn more about everyone’s past and then I can finally read Winter! (Yep, there’s another book I meant to read last year and didn’t, although that one was published in 2015. Like I said, this problem has been going on for the past few years.)

heartless5. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Most of the YA Alice in Wonderland retellings I’ve come across sound… ahhh, questionable at best, but I have high expectations for Heartless because IT’S MARISSA MEYER! IT HAS TO BE GOOD! I love that cover, too: I know a lot of people didn’t, but I think it’s beautiful in its simplicity. Some of the Lunar Chronicles book covers look too computer-generated and it bothers me.

american-monsters6. American Monsters by Derek Landy

I PURPOSELY PROCRASTINATED READING THIS BOOK BECAUSE I SO DID NOT WANT THIS SERIES TO END. But a few months ago Derek Landy announced that he’s writing a second Skulduggery Pleasant series (!!!!), so now I can go ahead and read this without worrying about having none of his amazing and hilarious writing left to read. I’m sooo anxious to find out what happens to Amber and Milo.

of-fire-and-stars7. Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

I knew I had to read this as soon as I heard that it was about a princess who falls in love with the sister of her husband-to-be. The blurb even recommends it for fans of Ash by Malinda Lo, which is one of my favorite books ever, so… PUT THIS BOOK IN MY LITTLE GAY FANTASY-LOVING HANDS IMMEDIATELY. I NEED IT.

black-panther-vol-18. Black Panther, Vol. 1: A Nation Under Our Feet by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Ta-Nehisi Coates’ nonfiction work Between the World and Me was my absolute FAVORITE book from 2016. And I walked out of the theater after watching Captain America: Civil War proclaiming Black Panther to be MY SON, who MUST BE PROTECTED and who DESERVES HIS OWN GODDAMN MOVIE EARLIER THAN 2018. So why didn’t I read this last year? Well… I was too depressed to focus on anything in the weeks after it was finally available from the library. Ugh. I’ve read it now, though! It was great!

paper-girls-volume-29. Paper Girls, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan

OHHHH MY GOD OK SO I HAD LITERALLY NO IDEA THAT VOLUME TWO HAD EVEN BEEN PUBLISHED. The first volume was probably one of the weirdest books I read in 2016, so I was impatient for a sequel… buuuut I didn’t realize one was published this fall! Yayyy for more time-traveling, ass-kicking girls!

summer-days-and-summer-nights10. Summer Days and Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins et all

I read the previous book in this series,* My True Love Gave To Me, in 2014 and remember finding it fairly enjoyable, so I don’t really know why I didn’t get around to this one last summer. Oh, well. I’m planning to read it sometime this winter to cheer myself up. It will be summer soon enough!

*Wait, is it even technically a series? It’s not listed as such on Goodreads, but given that the same person edited (not to mention contributed) to both volumes, I find it very odd that these two aren’t considered a series. Fingers crossed that we get two more short story collections, one about spring and one about fall!

-~-

Are there any books you were excited to read in 2016 (or even in 2015 or before) that you still haven’t read? If so, what stopped you from reading them? Do you find this to be a common problem for you?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 10 2016 Releases I Can’t Believe I Didn’t Read Last Year

  1. ellenmrozek says:

    You HAVE to get to The Raven King this year, if only because I’m eager to hear your thoughts. 🙂 Seriously, why haven’t more of my IRL friends read this book??

    I, too, am super eager to get my hands on Of Fire and Stars now that it’s actually published. I added it to my TBR list so long ago that I’d managed to forget about it entirely until early reviews started showing up. It sounds like exactly the twist on standard magic + politics fantasy that I’ve been looking for, and I hope it’s as good as I’m hoping it will be.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I KNOW I KNOW I’VE BEEN MEANING TO. I’m kind of nervous to, though, because I don’t want the series to end! Althoughhhh I’m like 99% certain that I heard something about Maggie writing a spinoff about Ronan?! Who knows how soon that will come, though, since she took so long to release the last book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series.

      Of Fire and Stars is so ridiculously specific to my interests. I forget whether I said that in this post because A) I’m on WordPress mobile right now and B) I prescheduled this post aaaages ago and don’t remember what I wrote. 😂 Have you read any of Malinda Lo’s books? Because the blurb of this one sounds really similar to hers.

  2. Ooh I’ve read a few of these, but somehow I still haven’t got round to reading the Magnus Chase series for some reason. I DON’T KNOW. (But I hear The Hammer of Thor has a genderfluid character which makes me happy so I NEED TO READ IT.) Of Fire and Stars sounds so wonderful, aaah! ❤

    • nevillegirl says:

      Which ones have you read? 😊

      The first Magnus Chase book was really good! And yeah, I’m so excited to see more genderfluid rep in middle grade fiction. (Wait, is this series MG or YA? I just realized I don’t even know.) Riordan won some sort of LGBTQ+ children’s book award for The Hammer of Thor, although now I can’t remember which one… a Stonewall award, maybe? I’ll have to double-check that later.

      Right?! It looks SO GOOD and so very, very gay. ❤️💝😍💖

      • The Trails of Apollo, The Raven King and American Monsters!
        I don’t actually know…? I think it’s classed as MG, but it’s sort of blurred so. *shrugs* WHO KNOWS. Yeah it’s really cool!
        YES SO WONDERFUL AAAH MUST READ.

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    Stars Above was soooo goooood!!! I can’t believe you haven’t read Winter yet, either! xD It was at least my second favorite in the series, if not my favorite (Cress is really close, because Cress/Thorne adorableness). I think most of the stories in Stars Above are backstory type ones, but I’d hold off on the last story in the book until you’ve read Winter, because there are spoilers.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I can’t believe I haven’t read Winter yet either! Ahhhh so many books so little time… especially now that the new semester has begun and I have like no time to read for fun. 😔

      I’ll keep that in mind! Thanks for letting me know, I like to avoid spoilers when at all possible!

  4. Oh my gosh I need to read the 2 vol of Paper Girls too! I didn’t realize it was out yet!

  5. orphu44 says:

    ! I’d forgotten about Of Fire and Stars but now … I really want to read it. I /really/ want to read it, even though adding to my pile of leisure reading I want to do is probably a bad idea because it’s already longer than is practical.
    Also heyy, I haven’t read American Monsters yet either! (I first wrote that as ‘American Gods’ and then stared at it for a few moments thinking ‘Derek Landy’s book can’t have the same title as Neil Gaiman’s, can it?’ before realizing my mistake.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Right?? I have like 0% time to read these days but all I want to do is read happy gay books to make me feel better about the state of the world right now. 😬

      Oh my god what if Derek Landy and Neil Gaiman collaborated on a book!!!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

