Some Things I Wrote For Her Campus In December & January

Hi, everyone! It’s kind of weird to be sitting here writing this because other than my post about the Women’s March on Washington that I published early last week, I haven’t written anything here in a long time. During winter break I spent a few days typing as fast as I could in order to write and schedule a ton of blog posts. Everything published here these past few weeks was scheduled. The same is true of the posts you’ll see in the month or so to come as well.

So I’m writing this post in spurts during my short study breaks, beginning at ten o’clock in the morning. (It’s taken me quite a while, as you can very well see…) I’ve been using the Pomodoro method again lately to help my studying stay on track, which involves working for twenty-five minutes and then taking a five-minute break.

(I did twenty-two Pomodoros on Saturday and nineteen of them were for Principles of Reasoning since A) I’d fallen behind and B) very little of the material makes sense to me the first time around so I have to read it over and over again.)

Anyway, the other day I realized that I haven’t shared any of the recent articles I’ve written for the University of Iowa chapter of Her Campus lately so I’m going to do that now!

First of all, I profiled another one of my friends! I love writing these profiles because… well, because they’re easy to write, honestly, but also because I always learn something cool I didn’t know about that particular friend before! I met Sophie in Media Shift last year and she has been great fun to talk to both in and out of the classroom.

Although it’s a little late to take advantage of the advice I wrote up in How To Make The Most Of Your Last Week Of Winter Break, I suppose you could always make use of it next year! Or maybe even use it to keep on track over spring break or the long summer vacation? I tried to be as productive as possible over winter break so I wrote this post in very much that frame of mind.

I wrote a shorter take on my experience at the March in my article 5 Things I Learned At The Women’s March On Washington. I’m particularly proud of how I managed to condense everything into just five main points. Also, yay for (admittedly brief) discussions of how to practice self care as an activist!

Last but certainly not least, I pitched the idea that eventually became How To Maintain Momentum On Your New Year’s Resolutions because I sensed that I would need it. And I did/do! The end of January = the doldrums for me, so I wrote something that I thought might help me to reframe and restart the resolutions that had fallen by the wayside. (Which was already all of them, BTW. Oops.)

If you’ve written anything for various publications so far this winter, feel free to leave the links to those pieces in the comment section below so I can check them out!

P.S. Unrelated to the rest of this post, but I saw this tweet the other day and felt it was important to share here in case anyone needs a reminder amongst all the worry and fear about the state of the world:

I love you. I believe in you.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Things I Wrote For Her Campus In December & January

  1. orphu44 says:

    I had genuinely just been looking at an article you’d written and thinking ‘it’s too bad there doesn’t seem to be a way to look at articles based on who’s written them here’ before I saw that you’d written a new post. So thank you, it’s like you read my mind.
    Also goodness, 22 Pomodoros is /so much time/ and now in spite of myself I aspire to that level of Pomodoro-ing. I could probably use it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      On Her Campus, if you click on my name (right below the title of the article, I believe), that should take you to a page with links to everything I’ve written there. 😊 But don’t worry, it took me a while to figure out too!

      Yes yes it really is. I was absolutely exhausted after that day. 😂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

