The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 2 | A Photo of Me

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

A photo of you.

Graduation announcement photoThis photograph was taken during a senior portrait photoshoot that occurred in either May or June or 2015. I was eighteen years old and had just graduated from high school.

I’ve always struggled to like what I see in photos of myself, but there are a few where I’m happy with how I look. This is one of them. My hair looked nice and my skin was actually clear for once. I was wearing one of my favorite dresses. The plants in the background are subdued yet pretty. The lighting is nice. I like the way my head is tilted. I like my smile.

I hadn’t thought about that day, or indeed that time in my life, in quite a while up until I was scrolling through the Media section of my WordPress dashboard looking for photos to use in this post. I remember feeling proud of myself for graduating and excited yet anxious about heading off to college just a few months later.

I’m really happy with the way this photo turned out. As I said earlier, there are very few pictures of me that I actually like and scarcely any recent ones BECAUSE I NEED TO UP MY SELFIE GAME, but I love this one.

What is your favorite photo of yourself? Why? How many years ago was it taken?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 2 | A Photo of Me

  1. Miriam Joy says:

    I think most of my favourite photos of myself aren’t the ones where I look objectively BEST — I like the ones where I look like me. So the one of me sitting on my windowsill stroking Nellie, I like that one. I took a lot of good pictures when I had colourful hair — I liked how I looked then. I’m finding it harder to take good pictures at the moment because I don’t like my hair, as it’s at an awkward in-between stage where it doesn’t really DO anything except look out of place no matter where it is.Considering cutting it super short again (as it now reaches just about long enough to brush against my eyebrows/eyes and that’s too long).

    You look very academic in that picture. I think it’s the glasses, but idk, it looks like the kind of photo that might be an author photo at the back of a book or something. (Most of my selfies and other pictures aren’t nearly so professional — I always look super goofy in posed photos, so I just take deliberately silly ones instead and then at least I meant to pull a weird face.)

  2. Bec Graham says:

    Good for you! Good for you for finding positives in your photos. This one is beautiful. 🙂

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    (If you know how to take good selfies, maybe pass some advice along this way? xD I am dreaaaadful. My friends constantly tease me about it.) You look so cute!! I love that picture.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

