The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 3 | A Word That Describes Me

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being.ย Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

A word that describes you.

The word that best describes me is “dreamer.”

I thought long and hard about how I wanted to answer this particular #LoveMe prompt and eventually I hit upon the idea of referring back to my Meyers-Briggs type. I’ve taken a number of MBTI quizzes over the years out of either curiosity or, sometimes, sheer boredom/procrastination. No matter what, my result is always the same: INFP, also known as the dreamer.

I frequently have my head in the clouds. That is not always a good thing! Sometimes I feel like I’m sleepwalking my way through life because so much of it passes by in a blur while the gears in my head are slowly turning.

I dream that both the best and the worst will happen. I’m forever setting goals that are ever-so-slightly ridiculous – all right, maybe very ridiculous – in terms of how unrealistic they are. Because I want to DO IT ALL. Because I think I can DO IT ALL. I also worry A LOT about Big Bad Things happening because… because I’m an anxious dreamer, I guess.

(And as someone with social anxiety, many of my daydreams consist of me imagining how a particular interaction will go only to become flustered later on when that interaction actually happens IRL but doesn’t go as I planned. Oops.)

I have a million and one ideas in my head at any given moment. Some are related either to stories I’m writing at the moment or stories I want to write. Some are about stories that I’m fairly certain I’ll never write down, stories I’ve been working on in my head for years and enjoy coming back to again and again but don’t think they’d ever work in any space beyond my head. Some are ideas for nonfiction pieces I want to write.

When I’m not thinking about my own stories, I’m likely thinking about someone else’s: I’ve always been that person who is half-convinced that if only you try hard enough, if only you believe in just the right way and in just the right amount, you can will yourself into the world of a book or a movie or a TV show. I know it’s silly, but I’m always terribly disappointed when that fails to happen, because I’d rather be somewhere other than this life, my life, with all its dreams.

I wish those dreams were real and not just dreams.

I have three questions for you, readers! What is your Meyers-Briggs type? Regardless of your MBTI result, would you say you are a dreamer? And finally, what word most accurately describes you?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 3 | A Word That Describes Me

  1. Claire says:

    I’m an INFP too, and you couldn’t have described the life of a dreamer better. I also have tried to will myself into a fictional world – I spent years trying to wish myself into Hogwarts, and another year obsessed with the Lunar Chronicles. I think fangirls are sort of a dreamer category of their own. :} And I’m with you on the social anxiety making you imagine a social situation that goes differently in real life – it’s very disconcerting! I think the #LoveMe challenge is a great idea, I’m tempted to join you if you don’t mind.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I’m glad my post made sense after all, because I wasn’t sure if it would. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Of course I don’t mind! Several of my other blogger friends decided to do #LoveMe as well and it honestly makes me so happy to read all their posts and know that they thought this idea would be helpful to them. So go for it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Heather says:

    I am not myself a dreamer, but I do find it fun to be around them sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s nice to see that you make goals for yourself and reach beyond them in all sorts of ways. As for myself, I am an ISTJ, so I am pretty orderly and not dreamy at all.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ahaha, some days I wish I were more orderly and less of a dreamer because it can be frustrating to daydream about something and never get organized or motivated enough to actually accomplish it. ๐Ÿ˜›

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

