The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 7 | One Thing That’s Just For Me

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

One thing that’s just for you.

I spent a while pondering what to write about because… well, I wasn’t exactly sure what I was being asked to do here. Was I supposed to write a post that was for my eyes only? But I’m doing this on my blog, where everyone can see it. #LoveMe posts are meant to be shared, meant to be posted on social media. If I posted it in a public place, wouldn’t that sort of defeat the purpose of writing something that was just for me?

Then I decided that I was probably overthinking the whole thing. Maybe the point wasn’t to write a post that was just for me. Maybe the point was to write a post about something that is just for me.

And in my case, that would be alone time. By definition, alone time cannot be shared with others. It is just for me. I love spending time by myself, away from any people.

It’s not the same thing as quiet time. In fact, I listen to music almost constantly. I’d say that the only time I’m not listening to it is when I sleep, but even that isn’t true because I sometimes use it to help me fall asleep. If anything, alone time is a time when my social life goes quiet.

It’s also not a time free from responsibility and productivity. I usually get a lot more done when I’m alone than I do when I’m with other people because now I can finally focus. I look forward to time spent alone because I know I’ll be able to check half a dozen items off of my to-do list.

My alone time is precious and I can’t function without it. Not without becoming moody and irritable, that is. As I’ve discussed numerous times before on this blog, I’m an introvert. I need alone time in order to recharge and keep moving forward with life.

It doesn’t mean I don’t like you. It doesn’t mean I am having a bad day. It’s just how I work. Who I am. And I don’t give it up very easily.

I look forward to all the little moments of the day (and night) when I can be alone. I don’t particularly enjoy getting up early but I have to do so if I want to avoid being late to class, so I do. And I discovered that, although there are still many things to hate about mornings, I love having the world seemingly to myself at that hour: My roommate gets up as late as she possibly can* and the girls in the rooms around us are either also still asleep or else quietly getting ready. The hustle and bustle of the day has not yet begun and it’s wonderful. It almost makes waking up at seven AM worth it.

*Sometimes she goes to bed just as I’m getting up and then I pretend to scold her for her poor life choices!

I cocoon myself away from the world on the walk to class with music that flows out of my headphones and into my ears. I sit by myself in the dining hall, a book in one hand and a fork in the other, not because I am lonely but because I love being alone. I study with friends sometimes, yes, but I love finding small nooks and crannies all over campus in which to hide and finish my homework.

And I really love nighttime because then, even though my roommate is just a few feet above me in her half of the bunk bed, it’s as though I have the room to myself. All is dark and quiet and I’m wrapped securely in many layers of blankets. Alone at last at the end of a very long day.

I love alone time.

What is one thing that’s just for you? (And how do you feel when you don’t get to have it or have to share?!) Is having time alone important to you, or do you find that you need to be around other people in order to feel re-energized?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 7 | One Thing That’s Just For Me

  1. Mahima says:

    Time spent alone and without others is lovely, I agree. As wonderful as human beings can be, spending too much time with them leaves me frazzled and emotionally inept – and because I’d rather not be that I do my own thing from time to time.

    A thing that’s just for me? I like listening to music while I’m doing things since it (most of the time) helps me focus on the task at hand – however it’s rare for me to simply just sit and listen to music just for the sake of listening to music. I guess that’s the sort of thing that’s just for me.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes yes “emotionally inept” is a good way of describing how I feel when I don’t get enough alone time too!

      Same here! It’s hard for me to work if there isn’t quiet music in the background because I can’t stand the silence and actually get more distracted/frustrated without music! One thing I’ve been trying lately, though, is letting myself listen to music as I walk to class while doing nothing else (such as checking my phone, for instance). It’s nice to really focus on what is happening in that moment and it helps my brain to feel way less frazzled which in turn sets a good tone for the rest of my day! 😊

  2. Mom says:

    Yes!! This!!

    “And I discovered that, although there are still many things to hate about mornings, I love having the world seemingly to myself at that hour: My roommate gets up as late as she possibly can* and the girls in the rooms around us are either also still asleep or else quietly getting ready. The hustle and bustle of the day has not yet begun and it’s wonderful.”

    See, you DO take after me in some ways (…says the mom who LOVES to run at 5 am when everyone else is asleep)!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      😊😊😊😊😊
      I mean, I’d still rather get up late lol. But this seems to work for now! And it helps with my depression, too, I think, but only when it’s more mild. Once it gets super bad again I have a huge problem getting out of bed at all, let alone early. 😬

  3. Lucille says:

    YES alone time is the best! I also love to go to the library and stay there a while, even if there’s some people (but not too many plz). Being around people, outside, is so draining ><

  4. Heather says:

    Aw yiss, alone time is the best! But, for me, at least, I think that it’s important for me to also have fandoms that I enjoy more than other folks, too. I don’t really hang out with people who like Bob’s Burgers or The Librarians, etcetera, and so it is good for me to enjoy those stories without having to be accountable to any other humans in my friend group or fandom.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

