The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 11 | A Smile

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

Share a smile.

johnson county fair 2016This picture is from July 2016. My summer roommate, Luísa, and I went to the county fair on one of our last days together before she headed back to her hometown in Brazil. This is one of my favorite pictures not only because we’re all smiley and happy in it, but because there aren’t actually that many photos of the two of us. I miss her so much! This was a great evening.

There aren’t a ton of pictures where I like my smile. I’m not good at smiling on command: It both looks and feels fake. On another note, I just don’t smile very often? Sometimes that’s because I’m sad or depressed or anxious, but other times I’m perfectly content and just happen to be deep in thought. When that’s the case and people assume that I’m sad or mad, it then makes me frustrated and even less likely to smile because… not smiling doesn’t necessarily mean something is wrong. It’s the natural state of my face when I’m lost in my own thoughts.

Anyway, I guess that was a roundabout way to lead up to me telling you that I rarely even smile in my selfies. I either don’t feel 100% my best or don’t know what to do with my face even when I am happy. In a lot of my selfies, the most you can hope to see is my lips slightly quirked up. So I love this photo, even if the side of my face is out of the frame, because it’s a reminder of a genuinely happy moment when I didn’t need to fake a smile and didn’t feel self-conscious about my face.

What makes you smile?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 11 | A Smile

  1. I love this! Im not a massive smiler either (just because my emotional baseline is really neutral like im a happy person but my idea of happy is very relaxed and chilled) so i get how awkward forced selfies are….babies can always get a smile out of me.though!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

