The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 16 | Something I Like About Myself

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

Something you like about yourself.

I like how many ideas I have for things to write!

That’s the answer that immediately popped into my head, at least.

I have hundreds of ideas for blog posts. Dozens of ideas for short stories. And many novel ideas.

Coming up with ideas has never been the hardest part of writing for me. If anything, it’s the easiest! In fact, I have to remind myself fairly frequent of something I’ve seen repeated around the Internet quite a bit: Ideas are easy, execution is hard. Brainstorming is effortless, productive, and fun for me, but it’s much, much more difficult to put my butt in a chair and sit until I’ve seen a particular piece of writing through to its conclusion.

And that can be frustrating! Sometimes what I’m writing doesn’t go as well as I thought it would: Either my writing isn’t as good as I want it to be, or I’m not writing as quickly as I’d hoped to, or whatever. Other times my life is simply too busy to spend as many hours writing as I would like to.

So with that in mind, I would like to begin two habits that should hopefully help me to improve at this thing I like about myself. The last thing I want is for the next part of this post to come off as critical of this talent of mine – one of the few things I do like about myself – since that isn’t in the spirit of #LoveMe, so I’ll quickly add that I view these habits as things that will allow me to better myself. (Which is definitely in the spirit of #LoveMe!)

The first habit involves writing down my BRILLIANT IDEAS more often so that I don’t forget them! I can do this on my phone, or, when my phone is dead – as it often is, because I LOVE SPOTIFY but that app unfortunately drains my battery really really quickly – I can use a small notebook and a pen or pencil. I actually carry around the latter in my purse already but I don’t always bring my purse with me so when my phone is dead and I’m without paper to write on or even a pen with which to write on my hands, I have no way of recording my ideas!

The second thing I want to start doing is more abstract: I need to remember that it’s perfectly OK if I don’t have time right now to write everything that I’d like to! Sometimes it’s just not the right time… and that’s life for you.

Whether I’m dealing with page limits for college papers, time constraints regarding scholarship application essays, a lack of free time during which to blog, or any other situation, I sometimes feel that I spend more time wishing I had enough time to write than I actually do writing. And that’s annoying, but I have to learn to relax and let it go. I’ll get there eventually. I’ll write – what I want to write – soon enough. Just take a deep breath and work on whatever it is that you have to do now, I tell myself, because once that thing is finished you’re that much closer toward having time to write.

What is something you like about yourself or about me lmao?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

