The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 18 | Something That Feeds My Brain

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

Something that feeds your brain.

I’m double majoring in English & creative writing and journalism. I love what I study… it feeds my brain. I could have easily chosen to write about this subject in response to another #LoveMe prompt, such as “something I have done right” (day 15) or “something I am proud of” (day 21) because both are equally true with regard to my majors. But I thought this topic would be best to discuss today.

Because of my majors, I am surrounded by words all day long. Reading and writing and editing.

I fall in love with books that, while perhaps not new to the rest of the world, are new to me and make me think.

I learn how to write like the authors of those books I love.

I practice analyzing texts in ways I had never before dreamed possible.

I practice reporting the news accurately, objectively, and in a timely manner.

And it can be stressful. Sometimes it’s so, so stressful. As my mom is fond of saying about raising my brother and I through toddlerhood, the days are long but the years are short. When I’m sitting in a boring lecture or stressing out about a huge paper that I’m writing at the last minute after procrastinating it for weeks, time seems to slow to a crawl.

And yet time seems to fly by, too. By the end of this semester, I will be halfway through my college years. THAT’S A REALLY WEIRD THOUGHT.

It’s easy to lose sight of the big picture. Sometimes I get so caught up in the little things, the reading responses and the midterms and the portion of my grade determined by my participation in class, that I forget why I’m really here. Why I came here in the first place.

I’m here to get an education. That may sound obvious but, as my English adviser is fond of reminding people, it’s the overall experience that’s important, not the individual classes. Of course, it’s a good idea to be deliberate in which courses you choose so you can tailor your studies to your interests, but the ultimate goal of an English degree is develop a set of skills that includes critical thinking, the ability to write coherently, how to read closely for analysis, and more. (The journalism major, while a little more specialized, has pretty much the same objectives.)

I won’t leave college as the same person I was when I entered it because I’ve been feeding my brain, introducing it to new thoughts and ideas.

What feeds your brain?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

