The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 20 | Something I Love To Wear

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

Something you love to wear.

unnamedI have no idea whether I’m supposed to describe an entire outfit or just one item of clothing that I love. Well, let’s go with the latter, because that’s all you can see in this picture anyway. I thought about attempting a flat lay – putting together an outfit, arranging it on the floor or another surface, and photographing it from above – but the lighting is weird in my dorm room and I’m not sure there’s actually enough floor space to try that anyway.

My favorite thing to wear – or one of them, at any rate, since I’m sure I’ll change my mind later – is this hoodie. It’s green and dark blue. Fairly lightweight, too, which is a change from my other, bulkier hoodies. It has one of those big front pockets that I’ve always called kangaroo pockets, although I’m not sure if that’s their actual name.

I wear this a lot. It’s comfortable and I like how it makes me look! I love stripes, especially on shirts, but don’t wear the shirts like that I own as often as I should because I’m worried that it makes me look fat. Stripes are supposed to make you seem wider, right? This is the only horizontally-striped shirt I wear often because I love the way I look in it so much that it negates any worry that it makes me look bigger. I hope that someday I can get over my discomfort about wearing my other striped shirts! Life is too short to wear boring clothes, et cetera.

Also, this shirt is just very ME. The colors and stripes are fun, which I think reflects my personality: I’m the weird friend, the one who’s always cracking jokes, whose mind is zipping around at a million miles a minute. So I feel very myself, and confident in myself, when I wear it.

This is a prescheduled post, so I have no idea whether or not I’ll be wearing this shirt today. But I just might.

Whether it’s a complete outfit or a single item of clothing, I’d love to know what your favorite thing to wear is. Why do you like it? How does it make you look/feel? Where did you buy it?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 20 | Something I Love To Wear

  1. On horizontal stripes: magazines and such always not to wear them because they make your look short. But I’m 5’1” and half my t shirts are striped horizontally. My philosophy is wear what you feel good in. Screw fashion tips.

  2. Mom says:

    That shirt is very YOU. Then again, I’ve seen you wear it many times! 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

