The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 21 | Something I Am Proud Of

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

Something you are proud of.

I’m proud of being a writer who is also part of the LGBTQ+ community! I’m proud of being a lesbian and I’m proud of my writing, so… yeah, I’m going to go ahead and say that I’m proud of how those two identities intersect and play out in my life.

I love writing fiction that includes LGBTQ+ characters and themes.

I love writing blog posts and essays about LGBTQ+ topics.

I’ve done quite a few papers and projects for school about this subject, too.

I love leading an LGBTQ+ writing group twice a month.

I love using my writing skills to discuss and analyze current events such as the treatment of LGBTQ+ people under this new administration, which is something I briefly touched upon in a previous #LoveMe post.

I love feeling so at home in both LGBTQ+ and writing communities because I was super lonely in middle school and high school when I either didn’t have that sort of support or was just beginning to find it. (I’m so happy that as the years have gone by, I’ve slowly found the right people for me, people who support me and love me, because they’re amazing and I don’t know how I managed without them.)

I’m excited at the prospect of perhaps one day parlaying my experience/interest in writing about this into a job of some sort!

The other day I was talking with some friends about how writing is just one of many facets of activism, and vice versa. I’m proud of having written things that help others to understand “my people” or that make others feel understood. Feel like they belong. I’m equally proud of having written things that helped me to figure out my own life and accept myself for who I am, even though at the time I was writing it I had no idea that that’s what was happening.

What is something that you are particularly proud of? (And which different facets of your identity converge in ways that you really enjoy?)

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

