The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 23 | My Best Feature

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

What is your best feature?

This question is left wide open for multiple interpretations: A physical feature? A feature of my personality? In the end I decided to write about a physical feature because body positivity is an important part of loving yourself!

I love my eyes.

They are perhaps the only body part that I always feel good about, even on bad days. I don’t want to go into too much detail about my feelings about the rest of my body because this is supposed to be a positive post but I also think it’s important to be realistic and honest, so I will say this: I’m very critical of the rest of my body.

I’m trying to be less harsh with myself in that regard, but it’s hard and will probably take a very long time. Which is why it’s nice that there is at least one physical feature that I can count on liking.

I love my eyes because I use them to read. (And, albeit indirectly, to write. Obviously I use my hands and fingers to write or to type, but I need my eyes to be able to see what I’m doing.)

I love my eyes because they allow me to see the faces of my loved ones as well as the places to which I travel.

I love my eyes because I can’t pursue my love of photography – a hobby right now, but hopefully a career one day – without them.

I love my eyes because I think they’re a pretty color. Just brown, nothing out of the ordinary, but I like them because they’re about the same color as my hair.

I love my eyes because I love the way my glasses frame them. I’ve worn glasses since I was six years old, if I remember correctly, and although I tried contacts for a time in my early teens, I much preferred the way my face looked with glasses instead. I feel lost and unfocused without my glasses and although it’s entirely possible that others don’t think my face looks lost and unfocused without those glasses, I perceive my face, my eyes to be so.

I love my eyes because I think they’re expressive. I think eyes can give you all sorts of clues about who a person is and what they’re going through at the moment. Sometimes I look at my own eyes in the mirror or stare into a friend’s eyes for so long that I start to dissociate. (Don’t try this at home, kids.)

Because eyes are really weird if you stop to think about it, aren’t they? They’re just another organ, but they’re one of the first body features we look at when we see someone else and they contain such life.

What is your best physical feature? How about your best personality feature?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

