The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 24 | What Makes Me Happy

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

What makes you happy?

Spending time with my friends, definitely. I’m sorry if that’s kind of a boring answer – I wouldn’t be surprised if a bunch of other people have talked about this in one or more of their #LoveMe posts? – but it’s what came to mind first.

I especially love spending time with my friends when it involves something other than attending class, studying, and doing homework! I talked about this a little in my New Year’s resolution post because I wanted to make sure that I spend more time having fun with my friends in 2017.

Relaxing in their dorm rooms/apartments, going to university events, walking to or from class and chatting, eating lunch or dinner, Skyping, watching movies or TV, attending club meetings. The list goes on and on.

My friends are scattered far and wide. Some live on the other side of the planet. Some I’ve never even met. Some I knew only for a short time and desperately want to see in person again. Some are just across campus, or further toward the outskirts of town. Some are a few dorm buildings away. Or just down the hall. Or in my room, in the case of my roommate.

And I love spending as much time with them as I am able to. Sometimes that’s difficult because of distance. Other times it’s tricky because there just isn’t enough time in my day, or anyone else’s, to coordinate schedules and find the time we need to do all the things we want to do.

But I do my best. We do our best, together.

What makes you happy? Tell me about a friendship that make you feel particularly happy!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

