The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 25 | What Makes Me Laugh

header-image-for-lovemeThis February, I’m doing #LoveMe, a challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself! One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be kinder and more gentle to myself, so I’m trying to be as positive as I can possibly be in 2017 and hope that doing this challenge will be good for my mental health and overall well-being. Check out my previous #LoveMe posts here!

Today’s prompt is:

What makes you laugh?

Wordplay.

Hey, I’m an English major. What else did you expect?

Specifically, I love puns. I feel like I’ve gotten very good at making them lately?! I lost count of the number of times this past winter break I made a pun that caused my entire family to groan. It got to the point where I started joking that the only thing my degree is good for is making puns, because I have LEVELED UP in pun-making abilities.

Now I’m trying to think of some of the good ones I’ve come up with, but I can’t. That’s the beauty of puns, though, isn’t it? The best puns aren’t planned, can’t be planned. They’re spur-of-the-moment quips and I get so, so much satisfaction from being able to think of them quickly. Part of the joy is in the comments from other people that are along the lines of, “How did you manage to make a pun based on something I said five seconds ago?”

I love wordplay in general which is one of the reasons I read so many children’s books, but puns are my favorite. In my journalism classes we were expressly instructed NOT to use them in the headlines of our articles and it is probably a good thing that we were told that right away because otherwise I would’ve been too tempted to make alllll of the puns. I need to think of some good puns I can use in the papers I have to write for my lit classes.

NO ONE CAN STOP ME FROM MAKING PUNS. What are you gonna do, arrest me? And toss me in the punitentiary?

What makes you laugh? OH OH OH and what is your favorite pun?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 25 | What Makes Me Laugh

  1. Aah! I have been very busy and not commenting much lately but this challenge seems really wonderful 🙂 I TOO LOVE PUNS. Though I am terrible at making them. It makes me laugh a lot when someone makes a pun in a slightly serious situation haha.

  2. mattblack42 says:

    Why did the partially blind man fall down a well?

    Because he couldn’t see that well.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

