The Luck Of The Irish Writing Program

Hey, everyone. I have BIG NEWS for you: I’ve been selected to study abroad this summer! I spent the past several weeks working on an application for my school’s Irish Writing Program, which is hosted each year in Dublin, and sent it off not too long ago. Well, I heard back already… I couldn’t believe I got my acceptance email so fast!

I actually can’t believe I was even accepted at all. If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll know that I applied to the same program last year and was turned down only to be offered a place a few days later since there turned out to be room for more students after all. Ultimately, however, I turned down that opportunity because I felt I wouldn’t be ready for it. Since most of the IWP students are upperclassmen, I thought my writing wouldn’t be up to par, that it would be below the expectations of the professors there.

I’m all for a good challenge, but I wasn’t ready for that challenge last summer. I think so, anyway. I guess we’ll never know for sure, will we? I was operating according to a gut instinct that told me I would be overwhelmed, not merely challenged, there.

All this means that I was SUPER anxious as soon as I sent off my application to the program last month. What if I didn’t get in?! I would feel so, so bad about having wasted the opportunity I was given to attend in 2016. I mean, yes, I could have always applied to study abroad during the summer between my junior and senior year, but I really want to get an internship or two that summer instead.

Soooooo what I am trying to say is that I feel very grateful and relieved right now! I’m so happy that I was chosen – ecstatic, even. I’ve been filling out forms and checking out the syllabi and thinking about what to pack. I suspect it’ll be difficult to fully concentrate on the rest of this semester because I’m so excited about going to Ireland!

Without a doubt, you can expect to see plenty of posts about my study abroad experience!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Luck Of The Irish Writing Program

  1. Shanti says:

    Yay, go you Elizabeth! I hope you have a fabulous time. This kind of stuff is always really nervewracking. I did a semester in New Zealand (though it was a bit different bc I’m a citizen and was living with family friends) and it’s very scary being in a new place, but ultimately exciting too.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! Ahhh, I’d love to go to NZ someday too! My school actually hosts a writing program there as well, but it’s sooooo much more expensive than the Irish one that I decided to just apply for that.

  2. M says:

    Congratulations! This sounds like it’ll be a super exciting experience. I’ve never visited Ireland before, and I’m eager to hear about your adventures there. 🙂

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    Ahhhh, congratulations!!! 🙂 You’ll have so much fun! I’m expecting to hear lots about it (with pictures, of course).

  4. Claire says:

    Congratulations! That sounds like an absolutely amazing opportunity, and I can’t wait to read any posts about your study abroad experience! I’ve been thinking about applying to study abroad myself, so I’ll be super interested to hear your experience – congrats! 🙂

  5. Shalom says:

    I AM SO EXCITED AND CHUFFED FOR YOU. So bloody proud of you, mate.

  6. Yay, congratulations! Ireland and the UK are beautiful and I’m sure you’ll have an awesome experience travelling and writing!

  7. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2017 | “Moonlight,” “A Monster Calls,” & The Women’s March On Washington | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. Heather says:

    Congrats on getting to go to Dublin! That will be so exciting. 😀 I can’t wait to hear more about it. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

