Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2017 | “Moonlight,” “A Monster Calls,” & The Women’s March On Washington

Hello, everyone! Today is the last day of winter! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from December twenty-first through March nineteenth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Winter

womens-march-on-washington-i-raise-up-my-voiceTaken on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. at the Women’s March

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Winter

Who am I? the monster repeated, still roaring. I am the spine that the mountains hang upon! I am the tears that the rivers cry! I am the lungs that breathe the wind! I am the wolf that kills the stag, the hawk that kills the mouse, the spider that kills the fly! I am the stag, the mouse and the fly that are eaten! I am the snake of the world devouring its tail! I am everything untamed and untameable! It brought Conor up close to its eye. I am this wild earth, come for you, Conor O’Malley.

‘You look like a tree,’ Conor said.”

– A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

AHHHH IT’S BEEN OVER TWO MONTHS SINCE I FINISHED THIS BOOK AND I STILL CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT UGH I JUST HAVE SO MANY EMOTIONS. The writing was so beautiful that it was hard for me to choose just one quote I loved!

This Winter In One Word

Intense.

Most Popular Review This Winter

I actually didn’t review ANYTHING – books, movies, TV shows, music, or something else – this winter! Which has happened in the past. Some seasons I just get so busy doing other things that I don’t seem to be able to find the time to sit down and write reviews. I’m hoping to get some written and scheduled within the next few days, though!

Top Two Books I Read This Winter

  1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness was my first five-star read of the year! The writing is oh so beautiful and MADE ME CRY. Would recommend.
  2. I read Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov for my Prose Style class last semester and appreciated the creativity so much I gave it four stars!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Spring

  1. I am ridiculously excited for the Wonder Woman movie, which debuts on June 2!
  2. My study abroad program, the Irish Writing Program, begins in June and I’m so impatient to head off to Dublin already!

Three New Obsessions This Winter

  1. I started keeping a daily gratitude journal and it’s already so much fun to flip through my past pages to see what I was thankful for on previous days!
  2. I bought a double venus necklace last month at the Midwest Bisexual Lesbian Gay Transgender Ally College Conference, AKA MBLGTACC. (The double venus is a lesbian symbol.) I’ve worn it every day since then and it’s amazing how confident such a little thing can make me feel!
  3. I downloaded the StayFocusd extension for Chrome to keep myself on task and off of social media during study sessions. Unfortunately, I’ve already figured out how to disable it, so I may need to find something more strict. (Any suggestions?)

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Winter

  1. Surprisingly, that was First Reactions To The “Doctor Who” Series Ten TV Trailer! It’s not a particularly thinky post, so I’m actually really happy that people seem to have enjoyed it!
  2. The popularity of 2016 In Review, on the other hand, does not surprise me at all. I love writing up my year-in-review posts and last year’s was no different, especially since I was anxious for that HELL YEAR to finally be over!
  3. In The #LoveMe Challenge | Day 1 | Why I’m Doing #LoveMe, I laid out the reasons I was participated and discussed my mental health.
  4. Reading Diversely In 2016 was a super fun post to write because I always enjoy reminiscing about all the diverse books I manage to read in a year!
  5. Writing Books I Read In 2016 made me feel super productive and proud of myself… because although I may not have read nearly as many books as I have in the past, I still read ONE HUNDRED BOOKS! And that’s no small thing!

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Winter

  1. Mahima @ The Controversies was as brilliant as always this winter with her post How To Be A Person.
  2. Sam Dylan Finch @ Let’s Queer Things Up! absolutely blew me away with his post Please Keep Inviting Me To Brunch. I’ve followed his blog for the past few years now because I love what he has to say about mental health, LGBTQ+ issues, et cetera, but this post means SO much to me. Thank you for writing it, Sam!
  3. Holly @ Nut Free Nerd tackled a difficult and discouraging topic in her post How Do You Prevent Blogging Burnout? | Discussion.
  4. I really loved On Not Rating Indie Books Generously by Liam @ Hey Ashers! because ughhhh I agree with it SO MUCH YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW.
  5. Rachel @ The Musings Of A Coffee Addicted Bibliophile had a super creative idea for a post: 8 Words Created/Inspired By Literature!

Five Things That Happened This Winter

  1. I began several year-long reading challenges! I think I’ll have to abandon Around The Year In 52 Books because I’m busier than I thought I would be, but I’d still love to continue working on Book Riot’s 2017 Read Harder challenge…
  2. I went to the Women’s March on Washington with some of my friends! THE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME TBH. I know I’ll still be talking about it when I’m an old lady, ha ha.
  3. I went to a lecture given by Patrisse Cullors, one of the founders of #BlackLivesMatter, that my college hosted. IT WAS SO SO GOOD OH MY GOD.
  4. I attended MBLGTACC 2017 at Navy Pier in Chicago! (And heard Cullors a second time – she was one of the keynote speakers!)
  5. I did #LoveMe, a blog challenge designed to help you learn to love yourself, and it improved my self-esteem!

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Winter

1. “End Credits Suite” (Moonlight) – Nicholas Britell

I absolutely ADORED this movie, which made me so happy because I had been looking forward to it for sooo long! I was overjoyed to hear that it won Best Picture at the Oscars: IT. DESERVED. IT. The film score is gorgeous, too… I’ve been listening to it a lot while I study.

2. “Pyramids” – Frank Ocean

Can you believe I didn’t start listening to his music until this winter?! I’d been meaning to check out his stuff for aaaages, but it wasn’t until I was making a playlist to listen to on the drive to Chicago for MBLGTACC and asked for song recs that I sat down, put my earbuds in, and figured out what all the fuss was about. This one is my favorite both for its sound and for the way it tells a long, intricate story.

3. “Heaven” – Troye Sivan feat. Betty Who

Such a great song! The music video is gorgeous, too: I’ve watched it over and over during study breaks and the old footage of same-gender couples makes me happy-cry every time. EVERY. TIME.

4. “Girlfriend” – Icona Pop

This song makes me so happy ahhhh! It’s such a SUMMERY GAY TUNE, honestly… I suppose I’m getting a head start on summer since I’m so sick of being cold!

5. “How Long Will I Love You” – Ellie Goulding

SUCH A SWEET SONG OMG. At first I heard it in the context of a romantic relationship, but I think it works really well as a parent-and-child thing too! I have a lot of emotions about it.

6. “Stitches” – Shawn Mendes

This song is so catchy! I haven’t really heard much of his other stuff except for “Treat You Better” because it’s seemingly always on the radio in the dining hall, but I quite like this one. I added it to a playlist of music I like to listen to in the morning to feel more awake and energized!

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this winter? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2017 | “Moonlight,” “A Monster Calls,” & The Women’s March On Washington

  1. Holly says:

    Ahhh Moonlight honestly has the best soundtrack. It’s so gorgeous ❤
    Thanks so much for the shoutout! 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

