A Spring Break Planning Disaster

Me: I’m really bad at knowing how much is too much to do in a day. Or a week. Or a month. It’s a HUGE character flaw.

Me: Hey guys, I need help figuring out what a realistic spring break workload would be. Wanna make sure I don’t overdo things AGAIN and burn out.

Me: [Proceeds to make an elaborately organized and decorated three-page-long to-do list on the bus ride home]

Me: Nothing can possibly go wrong!

Me: [Is actually fairly productive at first and enjoys the structure that the to-do list gives me]

Me: [Soon begins to get worn out but keeps working due to stubbornness and the pretty to-do list]

Me: This is FINE.

Me: [Does a truly extraordinary amount of homework and studying in the meantime]

Me: YES! THIS IS WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT!

Me: [Collapses]

Me: [Barely gets out of bed for the next three days due to depression and burnout]

Me: What the fuck. WHAT the FUCK.

Me: I just can’t believe this would happen to me! I mean, there was absolutely NOTHING to indicate that this would happen… nope, not anything.

Me: [Continues to lie in bed, staring at the ceiling, feeling Sad And Exhausted]

Me: …on second thought, that to-do list? It was a bit much. And I knew that.

Me: [Heads back to school after spring break is over]

Me: It’s so nice to have so little homework to do compared to how much there usually is! I’m a week ahead in four of my five classes, yessss. I’m not totally sure it was worth it, though, considering I’m now in a LIFE SLUMP because I thought it would be a good idea to do seventeen assignments in one day during spring break.

Me: Well, at least I’ve learned my lesson.

Me: MAYBE.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

