#AmCurrently | Reading “King Lear,” Writing Profiles, Thinking About Antidepressants, & More

Hi, everyone! Today’s post is… something I’ve been meaning to try for a while! I see a lot of #amcurrently blog posts and that made me want to write one of my own! The idea behind #amcurrently is that you talk about whatever it is that you are currently doing and want to share with people – whether that’s reading, writing, thinking, traveling, dreaming, WHATEVER. I hope to make this a semi-regular feature on my blog because I think it’s a great way of giving fun life-y updates!

Enjoy!

#amreading

Right now I’m reading King Lear for school! I’m up to act four and I feel like it’s taken forever to get there, but I’m so so happy that I’m finally reading this play because it’s been on my TBR for a while! I have NO idea exactly how it ends, only that it must end VERY VERY BADLY because it’s a tragedy and supposed to be even more devastating than Shakespeare’s tragedies usually are, so I’m looking forward to seeing what goes down at the end.

Since I’m reading it for my Literary Retelling & Impersonation class, I’m debating what I could write inspired by this. I’m leaning toward… a retelling about the Trumps?! As long as none of the characters are redeemed by the end of the story, of course. SO. I shall have to keep reading and see what happens. I really hope I can use that idea because it would be hilarious.

#amlistening

Lately I’ve been enjoying a Spotify playlist called Harry Potter 1-7 Film Scores! I found it while looking for suitable music to listen to while reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child over spring break and I’ve been listening to it ever since then. It’s such a good playlist for studying! Makes me feel motivated to pull a Hermione Granger and get amazing grades in all my classes.

#amwatching

My roommate and I watched Legally Blonde last night! I had never seen it before and it was so much fun… although TBH if I’d written the screenplay, Vivian would’ve gotten together with Rlle after dumping Warner and they could have been beautiful lawyer wives together lmaoooo. Oh well, life isn’t perfect.

#amprofiling

My latest assignment in Writing Across Cultures is to profile someone from a different culture than my own, so I’m interviewing a friend from a secular Jewish family and learning so much about her and her heritage in the process!

My first interview took a very interesting direction: I asked if she has ever included Jewish characters in her stories, since she’s a writer just like me, and she said that she’s more interested in portraying the Jewish way of thinking – in other words, values such as education, questioning, stubbornness, and the ability to adapt to new situations – than the Jewish faith. Which is FASCINATING to me, because I’d never thought of it that way before and it was not at all the answer I was expecting. So excited to see what this project becomes!

#amattending

Welllll… I’m not attending it RIGHT THIS MINUTE, but this evening I will be at a lecture given by Leslie Odom, Jr., and sponsored by my university. I’ve never listened to or seen Hamilton and honestly don’t intend to,* but I’ve watched several of Odom’s interviews and loved what he had to say about race, representation, et cetera. I have a busy day of studying planned for today so it will be nice to relax at this event tonight!

*I’m going to get so much flack for this, but it’s true. This is a good explanation of my feelings toward the musical.

#amenjoying

My parents went to Australia for several weeks this winter and one of the things they brought back was a pencil case for me because they knew I’d been meaning to get one! It seems like everyone in the studyblr community has one… aaaand since I love to color-code my notes, I wanted something in which to keep the approximately 45,000 pens, pencils, and highlighters I carry with me on school days. My pencil case shows a map of Australia with wildlife and landscapes around the edge and I love it so much; it’s so cute.

#amwondering

I think my antidepressants may actually be working?! I’m so nervous that this is just a fluke, though, and I’ve been overthinking my feelings pretty much every single day: Do I feel better because I’ve been productive lately, or am I more productive because I’ve been feeling better? And will this last? HOW LONG will this last? I’m so worried that it’s nothing more than the placebo effect and I feel tired just thinking about that because I tried two other medications before the one I’m on now and they didn’t work. Soooo I can only hope that I won’t have to go through the process of trying another med because I’m so over that already.

-~-

What have you been up to lately? Leave an #amcurrently list in the comments below and I’ll check it out!

P.S. Feel free to steal this idea for your own blog… after all, I borrowed it from others, so I can’t exactly lay claim to the format!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #AmCurrently | Reading “King Lear,” Writing Profiles, Thinking About Antidepressants, & More

  1. orphu44 says:

    I know you’ve already said you’re reading King Lear but ooh! I also have no idea how King Lear ends & have wanted to read it since time immemorial.
    Hope the new antidepressants do work & you don’t have to try others!
    (Also, your link about why don’t intend to listen to Hamilton leads to the same page about Leslie Odom Jr.’s talk, by the way!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, since it’s a tragedy I don’t think it’s too much of a spoiler to say that OH MY GOD SO MUCH SHIT GOES DOWN AT THE END WOWWW.

      Thank you! ❤

      Nooooo! My plans… foiled again! One of these days I'll finally be able to include links in posts and have them all be the link I actually intended to put there. Anyway, thank you so much for letting me know! I changed the URL to the correct one. 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    Yippee for happy pencil case!!!!!

  3. Pingback: #AmCurrently | Studying For Midterms, Listening To Ed Sheeran, & Double-Checking The Calendar | Musings From Neville's Navel

  4. Pingback: A 2.5-Month Medication Milestone | Thank You, Escitalopram | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

