National Poetry Month | Poems I’ll Be Reading

Hello, everyone! With April right around the corner, it’s time to share what I will be reading during National Poetry Month. For the next thirty days, I will be reading one poem per day to celebrate!

Without further ado, here is what I’ll be reading:

Thank you SO MUCH to everyone who recommended either an individual poem or a book of poetry (or both); I wouldn’t be able to pull off this madcap project without you! I actually received many more recs than I ever thought I would which, let me tell you, felt amazing. I hope you recognize a poem or two on this list as one that you recommended to me and that seeing it make you smile.

An extra-special shout-out goes to Mahima @ The Controversies, whose stellar recommendations make up TWENTY of the poems I’m going to read! She wrote up little annotations for everything she recommended and it all sounded so good that I decided to read, well, everything she recced.

Why did I list entire books of poetry on some days but not on others? I will be reading, as I said, one poem per day, but on Sundays I will also be reading the rest of the book of poetry that that day’s poem comes from! (Sundays are my day off, so I have more free time than usual.)

You can follow along with all my National Poetry Month pursuits! I’ll blog about the poems; you can expect a total of six posts recapping the past five days’ worth of poems each. I may also post some of my own poetry, reviews of poetry books I’ve read lately, et cetera.

I’m SO excited to begin this project next month. I foresee a lot of poem-reading going on during my study breaks, which will be great. I hope you have just as much fun following along with my National Poetry Month celebrations as I will doing them!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to National Poetry Month | Poems I’ll Be Reading

  1. This looks like an awesome list! I think I’m going to try and read some of these too!

  2. M says:

    Ahhh! You included one of the poems I recommended (“In Response To Executive Order 9066”). 😀
    I hope you enjoy it! (And I think I’ll read some of the poems on that list! They sound interesting.)

  3. Mahima says:

    Oh this is so exciting!! Thank you for taking on all twenty of my recommendations and I can’t wait to know what you think of them. I’ll be following along with your poetry reading too mainly because poetry is amazing.

  4. Pingback: National Poetry Month | Days 1-5 | Musings From Neville's Navel

  5. Pingback: National Poetry Month | Days 6-10 | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: National Poetry Month | Days 11-15 | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: National Poetry Month | Days 16-20 | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

