An Update On My Classes | Toni Morrison, Writing Scripts, & Midterms

Hi, everyone! Time for another update on my classes! I didn’t have the most productive weekend, since I was sick and therefore didn’t have the most effective studying sessions. Nevertheless, I’m determined to use this Monday as a catch-up day because I am busy busy busy in all my classes.

Enjoy!

Black Fiction Now

This week we’re reading Toni Morrison’s A Mercy, which should be interesting seeing as how I’ve never read any of Morrison’s books but have been meaning to. I’m like 99% sure we have one or two novels to go after that, but I can’t for the life of me remember what they are and I’m much too lazy to check the syllabus even though all my school stuff is right next to me. #collegestudentproblems

I also need to get to work on the final project of the semester, a five-to-eight page paper about one of the works of literature or concepts (or both) we’ve discussed these past few months. I’m doing my project on Moonlight since I absolutely adored that movie. Specifically, I want to take a look at how news articles about the movie’s Best Picture win at the Oscars focused just as much or more on La La Land and how that is symptomatic of the larger problem of black stories always being discussed in the context of white stories / a white audience.

Lately I’ve had a bee in my bonnet about turning this project into a blog just as I did for my research project about LGBTQ+ adaptations of A Midsummer Night’s Dream in a different class last summer, but I still need to ask permission to do that. As a matter of fact, I scheduled a meeting with my professor this morning and I’m writing this post as fast as I can before I have to scurry off in five or ten minutes.

Literary Retelling and Impersonation

I’m having SO MUCH FUN with my final project for this class! I’m writing a retelling of King Lear based on the current presidential administration because as I read the play I kept noting similarities between Trump and Lear, as well as many other characters and current political figures. I decided to write it as a script, rather than in prose, because I don’t have a lot of experience with that genre and I figured it would be a challenge. My professor cracks up every time I tell her about a new idea I have and I’m loving it.

Foundations of the First Amendment

I love history but god, this class is dull. The second midterm was Thursday and I, for one, never want to hear about another Supreme Court case involving free speech rights ever again. Unfortunately, I still have to for another few weeks because we aren’t quite at the end of the semester yet. I’m hoping that the final will be more engaging, at least, because it’s a paper instead of a test. So I’ll have more time to write and think!

Writing Across Cultures

The number of reading responses due and AP Style quizzes taken is beginning to taper off in anticipation of all the work we’ll have to do for the final project, an in-depth feature story. (Plus a query letter in hopes that at least some of us can get these things published somewhere!)

I’m going to write about how the administration at my school cooperates (or, well, doesn’t cooperate) with trans students who want to socially and/or medically transition. My motivation? I have quite a few friends who have begun transitioning in the eighteen months since I started college* and have long been curious as to how easy or hard my university makes that process. Like, can they get hormones at Student Health & Wellness or are they referred out to healthcare providers in the community? Whose efforts led to the ability to change your name on official school records, introduced last year?

*Wait. Has it been that long already? How???

Principles of Reasoning: Arguments and Debate

I thought I finally understood what was going on but now I’m completely lost once again and just hoping I can squeak by with a C so that this class counts toward my math gen ed requirement! SOMEONE PLEASE HELP AHHHHH. My professor curved the midterm, turning my D into a B, so that’s good. But I’m sooo confused. Honestly, it makes me want to cry sometimes. Cannot WAIT until this course is over.

-~-

How has your life been? Tell me one new thing you learned in school lately! Are you just as stressed and ready for the end of the semester as I am?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

