National Poetry Month | Days 26-30

This April, I’m reading one poem per day to celebrate National Poetry Month! I asked you for recommendations, compiled a list of the most promising-sounding works, and have been having great fun with this project ever since! This is the last of six updates, with my thoughts about the most recent five poems I’ve read in each post. You can find my earlier posts for National Poetry Month here.

Enjoy!

4/26

Gifts

Juliana Horatia Ewing

Well, this was ridiculously cute. It said so much in so few words! This is the sort of thing I’d write inside a card or something because I am an INSUFFERABLE ENGLISH MAJOR who expresses my feelings for people by showing them quotes that mean a lot to me and make me think of them.

4/27

I Look At The World

Langston Hughes

I’ve never read a Hughes poem I didn’t like. Profound and deeply lyrical as always. The last few lines are my favorite. I REALLY need to find the time to sit down and read a collection of his work because all these glimpses of his genius are tantalizing and I want more.

4/28

Love Is Not All

Edna St. Vincent Millay

Such a beautiful poem by an author whose work I’ve been meaning to check out for years! I hadn’t read a sonnet since the beginning of this month (Shakespeare’s “Sonnet XCVIII”) so it was nice to return to that form. Again, this is a good “expressing my affection for someone” type of poem.

4/29

What If You Slept?

Samuel Taylor Coleridge

I totally faked my way through this guy’s poetry in Foundations of the English Major last semester, oops. So it was good to actually check out his work.

This gave me “The Little Prince” vibes for some reason. It also kind of made me want to go back to bed but I COULDN’T ’cause I had a full day of studying for finals ahead of me. SIGH.

4/30

Then I Learned That Society Is Broken, Not Me

Amanda Lovelace

While I can’t believe that April is already almost over (and feel a little sad about that tbh!), this poem was SUCH a lovely way to conclude the month. It reminded me not to be jealous of what others have! Also, it was reminiscent of Rupi Kaur’s style, although I don’t know if this poem is an accurate representation of Lovelace’s work… for all I know, maybe she rarely places titles at the end of her pieces instead of at the beginning.

Also, just for the record, I keep misremembering this poet’s name as Ada Lovelace for REASONS. (Ada Lovelace is one of my heroes.)

-~-

Have you read any of the poems mentioned here, or any by the same authors? Do you have any recommendations for further reading for me based on these works – a sort of “if you liked that, try this” thing? And how are you celebrating National Poetry Month?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

