Final Thoughts On My Spring 2017 Classes

It’s that time of year again, people! Since the fall of my freshman year, I’ve taken the time to recap each semester of college once I reach the end of it, talking about what I most enjoyed (as well as disliked) about my classes.

Because I had a Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday schedule this semester, my last day of classes was actually yesterday, so today I’m working on a project for Black Fiction Now and studying for my philosophy final. (My filosophy phinal? Yes.) Hopefully, it will be a productive yet relaxing day, since I’ve already turned in three out of the four final projects I have due.

Enjoy!

Black Fiction Now

Don’t let the name of this class deceive you: We read and discussed nonfiction just as often as we did fiction, and the assigned texts were a mixture of the modern and the classic. Which I loved! In fact, there wasn’t quite enough time to get to everything my professor listed on the initial version of the syllabus.

I love my professor’s teaching style! I’ve taken some lit classes where the teacher definitely had a checklist of things they wanted to bring up in each discussion, but BFN class sessions were far more freeform, with the professor asking us what thoughts and questions we had about the reading.

I’m super excited to take a writing workshop course with her this fall!

Literary Retelling and Impersonation

AHHHH I HAVE SO SO SO MUCH LOVE FOR THIS COURSE AND THE PROFESSOR WHO TEACHES IT. (I’m taking an honors lit class with her next fall, as a matter of fact!) I love retellings A WHOLE LOT, and we focused on some of my favorite specific types – those based on fairy tales, ancient Greek classics, and Shakespeare. It was so cool to try my hand at writing retellings in addition to attempting impersonations of various authors’ works!

Foundations of the First Amendment

Yikes. YIKES. I have to take this course if I want to graduate with a bachelor’s in journalism, which is the only reason I took it. I thought it would be easy because my brother and I studied government and civics pretty thoroughly in middle school and high school, but I don’t think having that background made a huge difference. There are soooo many legal terms and Supreme Court cases to memorize and it all makes my head spin.

Writing Across Cultures

I ADORED this course and have nearly a perfect grade in it. It’s honestly so important to know how to report sensitively about communities other than your own and I feel like I’ve learned so much this semester. I think all journalism majors at my school should be required to take it!

My journalistic skills have improved by leaps and bounds due to my professor’s fairly demanding expectations for us, but I wouldn’t have had it any other way. She’s clearly very passionate about the course (which makes sense, since she was the one who created it years ago) and when I heard that this is apparently the last year she’s teaching it, I was sad because she’s so good at what she does.

Principles of Reasoning: Arguments and Debate

I’ve worked my BUTT off in this class these past few months. It really stresses me out! Probably half of my study sessions are devoted to reading and taking notes from my textbook, doing homework, watching tutorial videos, et cetera.

I took this course to fulfill the math gen ed requirement and was super nervous about whether or not I would even pass until yesterday afternoon, when I went to my professor’s office hours and we reviewed my grades… well, they’re higher than I thought!

-~-

Has your last week of school already come and gone, or are you still stressing out about finals?! Tell me all about your classes this past semester – the good, the bad, and the in between.

P.S. I’ll post about my final projects in Black Fiction Now and Literary Retelling & Impersonation for sure! And possibly the final article I wrote for Writing Across Cultures, an in-depth investigative piece, but I’d have to get permission from those I quoted first. I look forward to sharing what I’ve been working on with you!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Thoughts On My Spring 2017 Classes

  1. Every time I read about your classes I get so jealous! (In a good way, of course.) Glad you enjoy your classes! Not everyone has the luxury of loving their major that much. 🙂

  2. Mahima says:

    All your classes sound super awesome (provided the Reasoning one does sound really dense). Looking forward to reading posts about these classes!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

