#AmCurrently | Reading Comic Books, Packing, Hugging

Hello, everyone. With the semester nearly over, today was a very relaxing, even lazy day. Toward the end of it I got some bad news that I don’t really feel like talking about right now, but for the most part it was super happy and I am grateful for that. I absolutely love the #amcurrently format for life-y updates, so you’re getting another post written that way. Deal with it.

Check out my previous #amcurrently posts here.

#amwriting

With four final projects due last week, I’ve been incredibly busy. I mentioned in an earlier post that I’d written, what, three thousand words that day? Something like that. Well, I’ve written even more since then. Maybe six thousand all added up.

  • An investigative article about my school administration’s treatment of trans students for Writing Across Cultures
  • An essay dealing with a mock Supreme Court decision about free speech on college campuses for Foundations of the First Amendment
  • A portfolio of stories and poems for Literary Retelling & Impersonation
  • Awebsite about Moonlight for Black Fiction Now

Whew. It’s been a lot, and I’m glad it’s over. I’m proud of everything I turned in, but ready for a break! My fingers have been flying over my laptop keyboard these past few days.

You can expect to see posts about at least a few, if not all, of those projects within the next few weeks, as I’m hoping to blog about them sometime before my study abroad program begins.

#amstudying

My philosophy final is scheduled for 7:30 tomorrow morning. Luckily, the testing location is only like a block away, so I’m planning to get up at my usual time of 7. I rewrote all the notes I’ve taken for that class since the midterm, condensing them and clarifying things when needed. I had a review session with one of my friends yesterday where we did a practice test and it was honestly SO helpful because it showed me that I’m more prepared for this exam than I thought I was.

#ampacking

It’s hard to believe that the end of another school year is almost here already. Although I’m leaving the bulk of my packing for tomorrow after my final, I did start puttering around my room this evening, tidying up the place and packing up some clothes and stuff. Ahhh, this room will look so bare and weird so soon!

#amwatching

As I said above, I spent the past week buried in final projects, so I didn’t really have time to watch TV. But I had time for Doctor Who today, ahhh! I’m still not caught up on the show, but I’m really enjoying this series (and Bill) so far. Yay for semi-legal means of watching…

#amreading

Free Comic Book Day was YESTERDAY so of course my roommate and I got some freebies! We’ve been looking forward to it and talking about it for a while since I got her hooked on Marvel and DC movies last fall.

Here are the comics I got:

  • Colorful Monsters
  • Hilda’s Back!/Garbage Night
  • Doctor Who
  • Malika: Warrior Queen
  • Steam Wars: Strike Leader
  • Wonder Woman

Have you read any of these? Let me know! I’d love to hear your thoughts.

#amplanning

Last summer, I made a bucket list. Checking things off that list was SO much fun and I definitely think it helped me to make better use of my time. I’m going to repeat that this year… with different goals, of course! Since I’ll be home for two weeks, then in Dublin for six, and then home again for about four, my summer will be kind of weird, not to mention busy. So when I’m daydreaming about stuff to do in these coming months, I’m making sure not to set too lofty goals.

#amlistening

Hayley Kiyoko’s EP Citrine when I walk to class.

Nicholas Britell’s film score for Moonlight got me through that final project in Black Fiction Now. IT’S SO GOOD AHHHH. I finished the project late last night after listening to the album all the way through probably six or seven times.

Last but not least, Javier Navarrete’s score for Pan’s Labyrinth has been my other staple when finishing all those final projects. Definitely one of my favorite scores (and movies!) of all time.

#amhugging

I’ve hugged SO MANY PEOPLE these past few days. Some of them have just graduated, so we’re not sure when or even if we’ll ever see each other again. Others I won’t see until the end of the summer. Either way, I’ll miss them all, so a lot of hugs have been going on.

-~-

What have you been up to lately? Leave an #amcurrently list in the comments below and I’ll check it out!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #AmCurrently | Reading Comic Books, Packing, Hugging

  1. This is a great post! Love the idea for it 😊 sounds like you’ve been super busy – so I hope you enjoy a lovely break 😊

  2. Mahima says:

    Awww, hugging is the best!

    WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THIS SERIES OF DOCTOR WHO?! I actually really like it. There’s so much I’m thinking about when I’m watching it. Bill is such a great (but sometimes typical) companion, but the Doctor so fits the role as famous and eccentric uni lecturer!!

  3. Wow, it seems like you have had a busy end of term. You deserve a nice long break 🙂 🙂 Also, so jealous that you are going to Dublin this summer. I hope you blog about it so I can be there vicariously through your pictures and descriptions.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

