Some Questions Regarding This Summer’s Blog Posts

So I just realized it’s almost halfway through May, which means I leave for Ireland in… two weeks? Three weeks? Yeah, something like that. I don’t know exactly. I’m bad at math. Anyway, my point is that it’s probably time to begin thinking about my posting schedule over the summer.

I’d really like to do my whole post-every-day-in-June-for-Pride-month thing that I’ve done the past two years. I have a bunch of ideas – book reviews, lists of one kind or another, personal posts, et cetera – but I want your input on this. Almost all of it is stuff that’s been floating around in my thoughts for a while now, so it wouldn’t be hard to write up a ton of posts for scheduling in advance. (There’s no way I would try to wing it and somehow find time to sit down and write a post each day while I’m abroad.)

I also want to make sure I write about Ireland while I’m there. I head home on July 15th (or thereabouts, can’t remember exactly when my flight is), so I’d have time after Pride month to cram in a bunch of posts. I’m hoping to keep a journal (either on paper or in a Word doc) during my time there, so it should be fairly easy to recall stuff that went on early in the trip.

Or I could combine the two by posting a lot of GAY STUFF as well as thoughts about my study abroad experience.

Or I could go back to my original idea but add in a bunch of posts about specifically Irish gay stuff??? OH MAN I COULD TALK ABOUT MY GAY DAD OSCAR WILDE. Or Dublin Pride, which I plan to go to if at all possible.

People seem to have enjoyed my month-of-Pride-posts thing in the past, but I know a bunch of you have also expressed interest in and excitement for posts about Ireland. I’m not sure which one to prioritize – or rather, how much of each one to prioritize – and I need you to help me choose. I write what I like, but I want to make sure you like it too!

Let me know in the comments below! Thank you!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some Questions Regarding This Summer’s Blog Posts

  1. First, I am so jelly that you’re heading to Ireland for study and hope that you have an excellent time. I would probably recommend making a backlog of posts to schedule in advance while you’re over there, since you’ll probably fizzle out if you force yourself to write a post every single day while you’re traveling. That said, if you say “hey, I’m traveling and working hard, so there may be less content for a little while” your readers will totally understand (especially if, say, you make it up to them with a big gay summary post about your adventures once you get back). It’s most important to enjoy yourself and soak up your environment!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      I did end up making a backlog of scheduled posts for the first half or so of the trip and it really helped! I have a pretty hefty backlog of some 50 posts prewritten for the fall semester now, omg.

  2. Irish gay stuff! That sounds fabulous. Though honestly all of the ideas sound fantastic. I can’t wait for all of your pride posts. 😀

  3. Mahima says:

    PLEASE WRITE ABOUT UR GAY DAD OSCAR WILDE!

  4. Heather says:

    I am always up for talking about Oscar Wilde, man. Please, talk about him. Also Ireland in general would be cool to talk about but I like Oscar Wilde.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

