It’s So Quiet Here At Home | Missing Friends & Making Plans

Several days and a much-needed impromptu blogging break later, I have returned! To tell the truth, the past week or so has not been good to my brain. In fact, it’s been Supremely Ungood.

But I’m determined to make it better! I want to enjoy this summer, and there are only so many Depression Naps™ a person (me) can take in the middle of the afternoon before they (me) realize that the summer won’t magically improve all on its own.

(I have all these hopes and dreams and plans for the future and struggle a lot with the idea that they won’t come either instantaneously or easily. I’m working quite a lot on that part of my personality.)

Anyway, I think one thing that messed me up is how quiet things are here at home. I mean, there’s always something going on, but it’s just so different compared to Iowa City. The two most exciting places I’ve been in the past week are the library and a nearby park where I went for a run this morning.

I don’t visit home much during the school year – only for the Thanksgiving, winter, and spring breaks – but I’m home for three weeks before Ireland and three (or is it four?) afterward before the fall semester begins.

Also, the weather usually isn’t great during those breaks so it feels odd now that the weather has warmed up considerably but I don’t really have many places to go.

I don’t have any friends here, either. I don’t mean for this to turn into a pity party, but I think it’s important to include that fact here because IT’S SO WEIRD TO NOT BE ABLE TO TEXT A FRIEND AND ASK IF THEY WANT TO HANG OUT. I’m hoping to be able to meet up with some people later on this summer – my roommate in Chicago, maybe, or one of my classmates when she drives across this state on a trip home – but it’s been difficult to adjust to.

Add to that the fact that my brother is at some sort of coding bootcamp thingy and won’t be back until after I’m already in Ireland and it just gets weirder. I’m not used to being a temporary only child… not for this long!

SO. I’ll sit down and make my summer bucket list tomorrow, so that I have Things To Do to keep myself amused these next few months. And to think that I thought Iowa City was empty last summer! This just requires a little more creativity and planning in advance, though. And maybe a few more trips to the library? And long walks?

Also, Skyping. If I know you IRL, we should totally Skype! Or ask for my Snapchat! I miss all my Iowa City friends so much and can’t wait to see you all in the fall, but at the same time I don’t want to let this relative isolation get in the way of my summer when there’s so much to do!

 

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

