Summer 2017 Bucket List

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last summer, I made a bucket list and I had so much fun with it! SO OF COURSE I’M DOING IT AGAIN THIS YEAR. I actually meant to make this as soon as I got back home on May ninth but I was too busy and/or sleepy, so I finally finished it today. That’s OK, though, since I don’t think I made last year’s until close to the end of June? I didn’t write down this list until today, but I’m still way ahead of where I was last summer!

Anyway, here are all my goals for this summer, plus some quick thoughts about each, ’cause I thought you might be interested in how I plan to spend my time these next few months.

TO READ

1. American Monsters by Derek Landy

I ordered this book last fall, thinking I would have plenty of free time in which to read it. WELL GUESS WHAT COLLEGE IS EXTREMELY BUSY AND TOTALLY KICKED MY BUTT THIS PAST SCHOOL YEAR. I never got around to reading it, but now that I have more leisure time I’m planning to tackle it this summer!

2. The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

Ever since I read a ton of poems to celebrate National Poetry Month this past April, I’ve been on a big poetry kick. I can’t wait to read this book… I’ve heard so many good things about it!

3. The Happiness Trap by Russ Harris

My therapist lent me her copy of this book last fall, so I definitely need to read it and give it back to her soon or she’ll wonder if I lost it! I really struggle with the high expectations I set both for myself and for my life… and when things don’t go right, I tend to spiral further down into depression. My therapist thought I should give it a try and see if it gives me any useful suggestions for solving that problem!

4. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

DSJHGSKDGJHDFGKJFG BASICALLY THE THEME OF THIS PART OF MY BUCKET LIST IS “BOOKS I’VE BEEN MEANING TO READ FOR AAAAGES.” To tell the truth, I’ve procrastinated reading The Raven King because I don’t want this wonderful series to end!

5. Fauxpocalypse by Dave Higgins et al

I acquired a copy of this sci fi anthology last summer! I really really need to read Fauxpocalypse because several of my friends had stories published in it!

TO WATCH

1. Wonder Woman

I HAVE BEEN SO EXCITED FOR THIS MOVIE FOR SO SO LONG AND I CANNOT EVEN BELIEVE IT’S ALMOST HERE. It will be released when I’m in Ireland, so I need to find a movie theater near where I’ll be staying because I don’t want to wait until I’m back in the US!

2. Dunkirk

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed some of Christopher Nolan’s other movies (especially Interstellar!) and find WWII a fascinating time period in our history, which is why this movie is on my list. I’m interested to see what kind of characters Tom Hardy and James D’Arcy play, too, since I’ve enjoyed their roles in Mad Max: Fury Road and Agent Carter, respectively.

3. Atomic Blonde

To be honest, I know very little about this movie other than that it’s about a bi spy played by Charlize Theron, but that’s enough to make me say SIGN ME THE FUCK UP.

4. Valerian

This movie is based on a French science fiction/action comic book series and looks ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS. Which means it’s basically perfect for a trip to the movie theater with my brother + popcorn + candy.

5. The Little Prince

I read the book last year because an animated adaptation was released on Netflix in August and I meant to watch it before the 2016 fall semester began! Well, that never happened, so I’ve put it on my to-do list this summer!

STUDY ABROAD

1. Visit Trinity College Library

You have NO idea how excited – giddy, even – I am about going here. Once inside, I may very well never leave.

2. Visit the statue of Oscar Wilde in Merrion Square Park

One of my friends told me about this statue and I’m so glad she did! OSCAR WILDE IS MY VERY GAY DAD AND I LOVE HIM A LOT. He’s a huge source of inspiration for me.

3. Attend Dublin Pride

I’ve been to Pride before, but it was Iowa City Pride so it wasn’t very big. I’m looking forward to watching a Pride parade and participating in all the celebrations in a major city!

4. Go to at least three bookstores

BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY. I’m so excited to find odd, charming little bookshops all across the city!

5. Attend Derek Landy’s book signing

Soooooo I meant to mention this earlier, but I WILL BE IN DUBLIN WHEN DEREK LANDY IS THERE ON HIS BOOK TOUR FOR RESURRECTION, THE LATEST SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT BOOK. Ahhhhhh! I already have a signed copy of one of his books (Demon Road) and was so so excited for this new book when I found out I would have a chance to meet one of my favorite authors in person!

MISCELLANEOUS

1. Lose ten pounds

I’ve struggled with my weight for basically my entire life. Plus, one of the side effects of the antidepressant I currently take is increased hunger! I want to get healthier this summer, so I decided to set a realistic weight-loss goal.

2. Make macarons

I’ve always thought macarons were super cute, so my dad and I are going to try making them sometime soon! He’s much more patient and methodical when baking or cooking, whereas I tend to rush through the process… here’s hoping we’ll balance each other out while making this notoriously difficult recipe!

3. Create a summery playlist

This was on last summer’s bucket list and I never did it! FEEL FREE TO RECOMMEND SOME GOOD TUNES AHHHHH.

4. Write three articles for Her Campus

I didn’t write for Her Campus last summer and I really wish I had! If I space out my articles instead of trying to write them all at once, it should be easy to check this goal off my list.

5. Blog every day in June for Pride Month

I’ve done this the past two years and really enjoyed it, so of course I wanted to do it again. Since I’ll be busy taking classes and traveling the entire month, I’m going to write and schedule almost all of the posts in advance to make this goal more manageable.

-~-

Did you make a bucket list for this summer, or have you ever made such a list in the past? What goals and activities did you put on it?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer 2017 Bucket List

  1. Both your reading and your to watch list look amazing! Good luck with all your goals this summer! 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Nice! I will be interested to know what you think of “The Princess Saves Herself in This One” because I’ve gotten a lot of mixed reviews on that one. I also hope you enjoy Wonder Woman! I am curious about it myself. 🙂 I don’t have any bucket list items myself, but it is all I can do to cram in all the books and movies I want to read/watch before next semester begins.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m about halfway through it and have enjoyed it for the most part! I’ll probably review it when I’m done, although who even KNOWS when that review will go up, since I’m so behind on posting them… oops lol. 😛

      Here’s to both of us having a great summer !!!!!! 😀

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    Ahhh, the stories in Fauxpocalypse are so fun! (Or as fun as they can get when you’re talking about the potential apocalypse . . . but still, there’s some great humor in there. xD)

    I’m so excited for “Wonder Woman.” Every trailer I’ve seen looks cooler than the last. I’m pretty sure my dad and I are going to see it.

    Ooh, take pictures of the bookshops you see! I love seeing cool photos of libraries and bookstores in different countries. 🙂

    If you’re looking for any summery sort of suggestions, you can check out my “Happy Days, Chase the Rain Away” playlist on my Spotify account. My username is “hogwartsismyhometoo.”

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m looking forward to them! 🙂

      I’ve heard nothing but GREAT reviews so far, which makes me happy because DC movies can be questionable and don’t always live up to how good the comics are. 😦

      Of course I will! I’m so so excited to visit all the bookshops I can ahhhhh

      Thanks, I’ll check it out! I LOVE FINDING NEW MUSIC TO LISTEN TO AND I REALLY NEED SOME MORE. 😀

  4. Mahima says:

    The Little Prince is such a good movie! I went in expecting a redo of the book but no it’s so good as a movie.

    Making summer bucket lists are really fun! I’m going to make one once exams are over and I can’t wait to do all the things I’ve been putting off because of exams!

  5. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2017 | Poetry, Hozier, & “King Lear” | Musings From Neville's Navel

  6. Pingback: How’s My Year Going So Far? | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: 11(ish) Things I Want To Do Before The Summer’s Over | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

