5 LGBTQ+ Biopics I Can’t Believe Haven’t Already Been Made | AKA Please Fund My Little Gay Movie Dreams

Hey everyone! I’ve been in a big movie-watching MOOD lately and so the other day I thought why don’t I brainstorm a list of LGBTQ+ people whose lives should be told in biopics? Like, me + gay history = heart eyes emoji. I’M GAY FOR HISTORY TBH.

I chose to focus on five figures who are deceased, just to help me narrow down my choices, but I could totally write up a post about LGBTQ+ people are who currently living if anyone would be interested in reading that. Enjoy!

1. Oscar Wilde

I’m totally cheating here: Apparently there was a 1997 film called Wilde starring Stephen Fry (!) in the titular role. Buuuut… well, part of me wants a more modern take on his life, and part of me just can’t see Stephen Fry as Oscar Wilde. Like… at all. I like him as an actor! But I can’t envision him portraying Wilde for some reason. Anyway, I am SUPER PASSIONATE about all things Oscar Wilde because he is my Gay Dad™  and led an astonishing and often fucked up life and wrote stuff that is super fucking hilarious even today. I would die for a(nother) movie about him.

2. Josephine Baker

A loooong time ago, I mentioned that I’d love to see a YA novel written about her life and adventures. Well… why not make a movie out of that book and kill two birds with one stone?! Clearly I need to GET WRITING. From her time spent as a spy during WWII and her affair with Frido Kahlo to her work for the Civil Rights Movement and her career as a movie star, Josephine Baker is an endlessly fascinating individual and I want more people to know about her!

3. Sally Ride

I’m unsurprised that a biopic about Sally Ride hasn’t been made yet; after all, it’s been not quite five years since she passed away. It would be great to see one within the next decade or so. I LOVE SPACE AND I LOVE LESBIANS AND I WANT TO WATCH MOVIES ABOUT LESBIANS IN SPACE! I mean, really, who isn’t down for another movie about astronauts?!

4. Bayard Rustin

Bayard Rustin had a big hand in organizing the March on Washington in 1963* and advised Martin Luther King Jr.! Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find any well-known movies or fiction books about him. He deserves better… sigh, I wish I had enough money to fund all these biopics I’m proposing. @ HOLLYWOOD STUDIO EXECS GIVE MR. RUSTIN A MOVIE PLS AND THANK.

*I’d just like to point out that without the precedent people like Rustin set, we probably wouldn’t have had things like the Women’s March on Washington in response to Trump’s inauguration this past winter. Bayard Rustin’s hard work and careful planning showed us that organizing events on such a huge scale can be done!

5. Sylvia Rivera

Rivera was present at Stonewall and continued to serve as an activist for the transgender community up until her death in 2002. I would LOVE to see a movie about her life story, from her complicated childhood to her friendship with fellow trans activist Marsha P. Johnson.

-~-

Who are five famous (or maybe not-so-famous) LGBTQ+ individuals, living or dead, that you feel deserve to have their stories told in the form of a biopic?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 LGBTQ+ Biopics I Can’t Believe Haven’t Already Been Made | AKA Please Fund My Little Gay Movie Dreams

  1. Evi says:

    okay, so, there was this spy during WW2, and she was totally badass and and super cool- I had to go fetch my copy of Wonder Women to remember her name, it’s Elvira Chaudoir, and she was openly bisexual and a Peruvian heiress, and she ended up working for the British government. The British gov’t, of course, hated that she was bisexual, and would constantly write about her “Lesbian tendencies” on reports but she was incredibly smart and resourceful so they couldn’t get rid of her. She also screwed over a bunch of Nazis while working as a Double-Cross Agent for Britain and then hung out in France for the rest of her life. This got really long, ahaha, but I would LOVE to see a movie on her.

  2. Heather says:

    Yeah, I like Stephen Fry too, but him as Oscar Wilde? I struggle to see it… I don’t know. Seeing multiple interpretations of the same person sometimes helps me out when I think about a historical figure. I would LOVE to see a Sally Ride anything, mainly because I am also on a space kick in general right now. But space history is just as good as space future. 🙂 Bayard Rustin also sounds like an interesting figure—I’d watch a movie on him.

    I would want to see a movie about Walt Whitman, actually… I don’t really know if his life is interesting enough to be a movie, but since he’s the father of American literature it only seems fair that someone *try.*

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

