Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2017 | Poetry, Hozier, & “King Lear”

Hello, everyone! Today is the last day of spring! And that means it’s time for another quarterly rewind. This post covers the time from March twentieth through June nineteenth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. Enjoy!

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Spring

Taken in early June at the Oscar Wilde statue in Merrion Square Park, Dublin

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Spring

“Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks! Rage! Blow!
You cataracts and hurricanoes, spout
Till you have drenched our teeples, drowned the cocks!
You sulphurour and thought-executing fires,
Vaunt-couriers to oak-cleaving thunderbolts,
Singe my white head! And thou, all-shaking thunder,
Strike flat the thick rotundity o’ the world!
Crack nature’s molds, all germens spill at once
That make ingrateful man!”

– King Lear by William Shakespeare

Can you believe that I’d never read King Lear until this year?! Me neither. In high school, I mostly stuck to reading his comedies. I’m glad I did that, though, since I think I’ve gotten to a point in my English studies where I am better able to appreciate the tragedies. This one is FULL of so many good speeches that at some point I had to just randomly pick one because I knew if I didn’t force myself to stop scrolling down Goodreads’ quotes page for this play, I’d be there for an eternity.

This Spring In One Word

Sad.

Most Popular Review This Spring

I read and reviewed Instructions for Flight, a debut collection of poetry by my friend Kate I. Foley! It was a great little collection and I’m eager to see what Kate writes next!

Top Two Books I Read This Spring

  1. Rupi Kaur’s book of poetry, Milk and Honey, was pretty good. So emotional and raw.
  2. I’m so happy I finally read King Lear because every single page had something new and beautiful in store for me to find!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Summer

  1. I’m super super excited to attend Dublin Pride in just a few days! My very first Pride was in Iowa City last year and sure, that was a lot of fun, but I’m really curious to see what Pride celebrations are like in a large city.
  2. My JUNIOR YEAR of college will begin toward the end of this summer! It’s hard to believe that I am already almost in my third year of college. Where did the time go?!

Three New Obsessions This Spring

  1. With my roommate, I watched Yuri!!! On Ice and Tanaka-kun Is Always Listless. I’m not about the super dark and bloody animes… I prefer the cute stuff! Preferably SUPER GAY cute stuff.
  2. Normally I save musical obsessions for later on in these quarterly rewinds, the section about songs I listened to far too often, but I’m just so head over heels in love with Hozier’s self-titled album that I’m gonna talk about it here too. It’s not new by any means – it was released in 2014 – and I’d heard part of it before but hadn’t listened to the whole thing until this May. IT’S SO GOOD! I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAS MISSING OUT ON SOMETHING SO BEAUTIFUL!
  3. My roommate introduced me to the deliciousness that is bubble tea and? I love it so much wow?

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Spring

  1. Pulled an April Fools’ joke in I’m A Business Major Now! and was apparently totally convincing.
  2. Links I Loved Lately | Race, Gender, & Education was just me word-vomiting some thoughts about a few good articles I’d read lately, so I’m really happy to see it becoming so popular?!
  3. I felt super seasonal after doing The Spring Has Sprung Book Tag.
  4. I wrote Transgender In The Heartland: Administrative Efforts, Student Advocates for my Writing Across Cultures journalism class this past semester and I’m so grateful for all the attention you gave it! I worked hard to put it all together and that really paid off.
  5. In My Double Venus Necklace, I discussed how a tiny piece of jewelry I wear every day symbolizes so much more than I ever thought it would.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Spring

  1. As usual, Mahima @ The Controversies brought us brilliance in her post Being A Young Bengali Feminist.
  2. Emily @ Loony Literate asked us Has Your Favorite Genre Changed? which I absolutely LOVED because god. Yes. Yes it has.
  3. I have nothing but praise for Rough Waters: Some Thoughts On Moonlight by Arya @ Wordy & Nerdy! Such a well-written review! I wish mine could be that coherent all the time…
  4. Shalom @ Okay, Shalom wrote a bunch of great posts this month, some of them about really deep dark subjects, but ultimately the one that stuck with me the longest was Blinding. It’s about glasses.
  5. Things & How To Do Them by Nanea Hoffman @ Sweatpants & Coffee came into my life at a moment when I really needed it, for which I am so grateful.

Five Things That Happened This Spring

  1. I read a poem per day in April to celebrate National Poetry Month. I’m already excited to do this next year as well!
  2. My cat died and I miss him more than I can say.
  3. I made a bucket list for this coming summer.
  4. I headed off to Ireland for a study abroad program! I’m having so much fun here and learning lots ahhhhh.
  5. I met one of my favorite authors, Derek Landy, at a book signing in Dublin! Bought a copy of his latest Skulduggery Pleasant novel, Resurrection, and had a great time.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Spring

1. “Cherry Wine” – Hozier

I’ve always been into songs that read like poetry, but I’m noticing it even more ever since I read all those poems for National Poetry Month. This song is probably my favorite example of the intense poetic-ness (for lack of a better word) of Hozier’s lyrics. This music video makes me cry every time! I’m really glad he decided to portray domestic abuse through multiple perspectives, with a woman experiencing it in the music video and a man experiencing it in the song.

2. “Shape of You” – Ed Sheeran

Ahhhh this song is just so catchy and the music video is so cute! It’s definitely a little sillier and less lyrically beautiful than some of his other songs, but it cheers me up so I keep listening.

3. “End Credits” (Wonder Woman) – Rupert Gregson-Williams

I WAITED MORE THAN TWO YEARS FOR THIS MOVIE AND IT NOT ONLY LIVED UP TO BUT SURPASSED MY EVERY EXPECTATION. God, I love it so much. I’d be totally down to see it again, tbh… anyway, this is one of my favorite tracks from the score. It makes me feel like I could pUNCH THE ENTIRE WORLD.

4. “Rocket Man” – Elton John

I’ve loved this song ever since I was a little, little girl – it reminds me of my mom because she played Elton John’s music so much – and I couldn’t be happier that it received such a beautiful new music video this spring. I’ll never hear the lyrics the same way again.

5. “Kids” – OneRepublic

I love the lyrics of this song SO MUCH! Such a good summery song.

6. “Castle on the Hill” – Ed Sheeran

THIS SONG! IS POETRY! It somehow makes me feel nostalgic for my hometown and my high school years??? Even though that actually wasn’t a great time in my life and I don’t have any friends I want to get back together with? Wow.

-~-

What did you enjoy most on my blog this spring? And what have you done during these past few months?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Spring 2017 | Poetry, Hozier, & “King Lear”

  1. moosha16 says:

    Thank you for mentioning my post, being a young bengali feminist. It wasn’t Mahima but her younger sister (me!) who wrote it! I’m so glad you liked it!

    • nevillegirl says:

      You’re welcome! Ahhh that makes so much sense, I wondered why the introduction to that post mentioned that you don’t blog very often… because I was like, wait, Mahima blogs all the time! 🙂

  2. orphu44 says:

    It feels like forever ago that you read King Lear!
    And it’s so exciting that you’re going to Dublin Pride! I hope it goes wonderfully!
    I’ve heard of Yuri on Ice but never of Tanaka-kun Is Always Listless.
    And I still can’t believe you met Derek Landy, oh my goodness!

  3. themagicviolinist says:

    That Oscar Wilde picture you took still makes me giggle. I love it.

    Ahhhh, I still love the review you wrote for my book! :’)

    I loooove Hozier!!! He’s one of those artists I casually listened to, so I never made an effort to listen to him specifically, but anytime one of his songs came on when my music was on shuffle, I just totally loved it. “Jackie and Wilson” is one of my favorites.

    WONDER WOMAN WAS FREAKING AWESOME. I saw it with my geeky friend and now I’m trying to go see it with my dad. I’d probably go see it a third time, too. I think that movie rocketed up to my all-time favorite superhero movie spot.

    I’m so sorry about your cat. 😦 *hugs* That has to be really hard.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe me too 🙂

      I’m glad! I had so much fun writing it.

      “Jackie and Wilson” isn’t one of my top favorites, but it’s still pretty good!

      RIGHT?! I can’t wait for the sequel !!!

      It really is. Our neighbors down the street have been really nice about it tho, they knew I missed my cat so they’ve been letting me come over and pet/walk their dogs 😀

  4. Heather says:

    King Lear is my best friend’s favorite Shakespeare play, so *finger guns* glad you liked it. Because I like to defend my friend’s preferences, I guess. I’m also really sorry to hear about your cat. 😦 I hope you are taking care of yourself. Cuz that sucks. :/

    • nevillegirl says:

      You have good taste in friends and your friend has good taste in books 🙂

      I have been! It’s been hard, definitely, but I’m getting better. Still miss him every day, though. :/

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

