10 More Songs That Should Be LGBTQ+ YA Novels

Over a year ago, I wrote a Top Ten Tuesday post about ten LGBTQ+ songs that I wished were YA novels. People seemed to love it, and I had a great time writing it, so… ever since then, whenever I hear a super gay song that makes me think it should be a super gay novel I jot down the title and artist.

In this way, I’ve been slowly saving up enough songs to do a second post.

GAY YA VIBES YAY.

Enjoy!

1. “What’s It Gonna Be?” – Shura

I’m on my own
You’re at the beach
Hundreds of miles away
I don’t wanna be that girl
I don’t wanna be that girl
I don’t wanna give you up
I don’t wanna let you love somebody else but me
So what’s it gonna be?

DSJAHGDLKJDSF I LOVE CUTE SCHOOL STORIES AND THEY’RE EVEN BETTER WHEN THEY’RE GAY. (Obviously.) I love the plot twist, where you think the brother and sister are straight and then you realize that they were actually befriending each other’s crushes to get them on their sibling’s good side. Ridiculously adorable.

2. “Girls” – Beatrice Eli

I see girls in my building
I see girls on the train
I see pictures in my head
I can’t make go away
I’ve got the girls on my mind all the time

Aside from being #me, this song would be so good as a slice-of-life, stream-of-consciousness novel, maybe set over the course of a Friday night or a weekend in high school.

3. “Put ‘Em Up” – Priory

Boys will be boys,
who like boys,
who dress like girls,
and that’s alright.
We’re hangin’ with the boys that look like girls tonight
Girls will be girls,
who like girls,
who dress like boys,
and start up fights.
We’re hangin’ with the girls that look like boys alright.

Concept: A novel following a bunch of different characters whose lives are seemingly unconnected to one another until the ending, when they all meet up. Ahhh I love the gender fuckery in this song SO. MUCH.

4. “Cool” – Troye Sivan

I was just trying to be cool
I was just trying to be like you
I’m a spark and you’re a boom
What am I supposed to do?

I guess I’m just in a really SUMMERY GAY MOOD lately? Which makes sense, since it is summer here after all. If I had my way, “Cool” would be about two boys who fall in love over the course of one summer spent at a tiny town on the beach. VERY SPECIFIC, I KNOW. I do have very specific gay fantasies and they involve other people writing happy gay stories I can devour in an afternoon.

5. “Palace” – Hayley Kiyoko

So this is where I leave you
Sitting in a palace covered in gold inside my head
This is where I see you
On a bed of roses when I wanna kiss your silhouette

OK OK I HAVE AN IDEA: The whole story is a daydream where this girl imagines this perfect beautiful future with her and her crush or girlfriend. AHHH HOW CUTE WOULD THAT BE? Very cute, that’s the answer. WHY DO I KEEP TYPING IN ALL CAPS.

6. “Heaven” – Troye Sivan

Without losing a piece of me
How do I get to heaven?
Without changing a part of me
How do I get to heaven?
All my time is wasted
Feeling like my heart’s mistaken, oh
So if I’m losing a piece of me
Maybe I don’t want heaven?

For this song, I’m thinking of a storyline something like the subplot of Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan? I’m not a huge fan of David Levithan’s writing style, and was especially weirded out by his use of the pronoun “we” to tell the collective story of many gay men from the past… I guess because I’m not used to stories told by the voice of a group? But I am totally down for a story with multiple perspectives from LGBTQ+ people who lived long ago. How about a collection of linked short stories with a different narrator for each one?

7. “Pretty Girl” – Hayley Kiyoko

I can see you’re real smart
World-class piece of art
I can see you in the dark
All we have to do is start
I just wanna tell you that you’re really pretty, girl
I just wanna know if you will let me be your world

“World-class piece of art” makes me close my eyes and imagine a story in which two city girls meet at… an art museum? Art school? I’m not sure. Just… ART GAYS. ARTSY ARTSY GAYS.

8. “Only A Girl” – Gia

Only a girl
Knows how a girl feels
Only a girl
Can make me feel this way
It’s getting better
Nothing like two girls sticking together

Girl meets boy, girl dumps boy, girl meets girl and spends the rest of her life with her. I’M ALL ABOUT THAT AESTHETIC. Give me a story about STRONG FEMALE FRIENDSHIPS and GIRLS FALLING IN LOVE WITH EACH OTHER!

9. “One Bad Night” – Hayley Kiyoko

Talk with your fingertips
Don’t stop the car, let’s drive
Suck on your amber lips
Just give me one bad night
Heart beat is razor thin
Hot heat, you make me high
Get underneath my skin
Just give me one bad night

Trans women getting happy endings? Black men getting cute romantic stories? Yes, please. This might actually be NA, rather than YA, because I feel like the characters are older – college age, maybe? – but either way, I’d love to see this in novel form.

10. “Sleepover” – Hayley Kiyoko

I don’t wanna talk about it
I don’t wanna think about it
I’m just feeling low, feeling low
Even when you’re next to me
It’s not the way I’m picturing
I’m just feeling low, feeling low
You wanna be friends forever?
I can think of something better

Ahhh, that dreaded crush on your best friend. This is such a tender and sweet song, though! Plus, yay for fictional interracial couples where neither member is white.

-~-

I can’t wait to write take three of this post someday! What songs would YOU love to see as LGBTQ+ novels, YA or otherwise?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Neville Sings The Blues, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 More Songs That Should Be LGBTQ+ YA Novels

  1. Um yes! We need to write these stories now! 😀

  2. AAH I love all of these! All the songs are great! I adore the music video for What’s it Gonna Be; I’ve watched it so many times haha because it just makes me feel SO HAPPY. IT’S SO CUTE. I’d also love to read a novel of Pretty Girl. Artsy gays, definitely good. *nods*

  3. orphu44 says:

    I knew ‘What’s It Gonna Be’ would be on this list! … I didn’t actually realize they were brother and sister until now, though.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

