Dublin Pride 2017

…I’ve just spent the past twenty minutes googling how to say “Happy Pride” in Gaelic but can’t seem to find a definitive answer, so I really should move on and jump right into this post.

I attended the Dublin Pride parade this past Saturday along with some of my friends from my study abroad program! It was a rare warm, sunny summer day in the city, perfect for the festivities.

It wasn’t my first Pride – I went to Iowa City Pride last year – but it was my first one in a large city. Some 30,000 people showed up, which isn’t very big at all compared to the crowds that some Pride parades in American cities draw, but it’s quite large for such a small country as Ireland.

I yelled and laughed and waved and took selfies with my friends and bought a pair of rainbow suspenders.

Petted dogs that wore rainbow collars and bandannas.

Cried when I saw all the elderly same-gender couples kissing and holding hands and holding each other.

Cheered all the people marching for grassroots organizations and booed all the massive corporate floats. (Seriously, companies like LinkedIn and Amazon can fuck right off. Pride isn’t and has never been for them…)

I don’t want to say too much more about Pride since I wrote about it for a creative nonfiction assignment (about how to include historical context!) this week that I’m planning to share with you eventually, but I do want to tell you about my favorite float. I’m actually not 100% sure what organization it went with, but I am fairly sure that it wasn’t anything corporate.

The float was covered in flowers and the now-famous art of gay couples that appeared as murals on castles and city walls to encourage Irish citizens to vote “yes” in their marriage equality referendum several years ago. It bore the words “EQUAL MARRIAGE NORTH & SOUTH,” reminding me that Ireland is still a country divided.

Happy Pride, everyone.

P.S. #sorrynotsorry for the lack of posts on the 23rd and 25th… I had enough posts scheduled to get me through almost the entire month of June, but ran out a few days ago. I’ve been super busy with school/traveling, as well as dealing with Mental Health Stuff™, and all of those things come before blogging. You can definitely expect to see a few more posts in the days still left of Pride Month, though!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dublin Pride 2017

  1. Elsie LMC says:

    I was going to go there! 😄 We planned to go on Sunday but then realized it would be on the Saturday and would get there 😂 sounds like you had a brilliant time though! 😄💗

  2. Pingback: Dublin Pride 2017, Take Two | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

