11(ish) Things I Want To Do Before The Summer’s Over

I know, I know. I made a bucket list earlier this summer and here I go adding more things to my to-do list. But you know me. Always making new goals and revising the old ones. Since there’s only about three weeks left until I head back to Iowa City, I want to make the most of the time remaining.

Here is what I’ve set out to do!

1. Do everything still left on my summer 2017 bucket list

I mean, duh. Here is what I still have left to do:

  • Read American Monsters by Derek Landy
  • Read The Happiness Trap by Russ Harris
  • Read The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Read Fauxpocalypse by Dave Higgins et al
  • Watch Atomic Blonde
  • Watch Valerian
  • Lose ten pounds
  • Write three articles for Her campus

So, yeah. That’s why I said there are elevenISH things I want to do, since I just listed nine items but they all count toward the same larger task. I’m not at all worried about completing the list, since I figure that most of it (e.g. reading) is something I can fit in here and there.

2. Clean my room

There’s just so much to organize! Every semester I bring home more books than I know what to do with because I have a bad used-book-buying addiction. While I’m at it, I also want to clean out my desk and go through all my clothes to figure out what’s worn out, too small, not really my thing, et cetera so that it’s not taking up space in my closet and dresser. I’ve broken everything down into smaller tasks so I can hopefully avoid trying to work on 5,607 things at once. (Which is what usually happens when I clean my room…)

3. Figure out what I’m bringing to school with me this year

I’m cleaning my room not just because I like having a nice tidy place to hang out in, but because going through all my stuff will hopefully help me to decide what to pack and what to leave behind! I’m trying to cut down on the amount of stuff I bring, since it seems that every year there are entirely too many things JUST CHILLING in my dorm room and not serving any purpose. Not gonna do that anymore.

4. Spend time with my old roommate

I miss her so much! I need to text Bridget and see when she’s free, since we talked about meeting up at my house or in Chicago and spending the day together. I know school is less than a month away, but we live so close to each other that I’d really like to get together before the semester begins.

5. Walk the neighbors’ dog

Our neighbors down the street heard how much I miss my cat so they offered to let me walk my favorite of their five dogs! Ahhhh this really means a lot to me since petting and cuddling animals makes even the worst mental health days a little more bearable.

6. Catch up on Doctor Who

I talked about this a few days ago, in fact! Recently, I’ve had some days where I woke up and had absolutely no spoons, so I’m going to try to make the most of Depression Days™ like that by sitting on the couch/lying in bed and binge-watching. Hopefully I’ll be all caught up before the school year begins so TV doesn’t distract me!

7. Write + schedule a ton of blog posts for the coming school year

WRITE LIKE THE WIND! I have a really long list of ideas, so now it’s just a matter of forcing myself to sit down and focus instead of watching cat videos and laughing at memes. The idea is to have a huge bank of posts built up so that my blog remains active but I don’t have to worry about how I’m going to fit blogging into my already busy life.

8. Get a head start on the new semester

Some ideas as to how I can accomplish this:

  • Develop a study schedule
  • Knock out some of the items on the reading list*
  • Actually post stuff on my studyblr for once instead of just liking everyone else’s very Aesthetique™ photos of their pristine notes
*Even though that means ERNEST HEMINGWAY for one of my classes. I despise Hemingway. I’d sooner dig my own eyes out with a spoon, but know that my revulsion at having to read his books will only increase if I wait until the semester is in full swing and I have 6,305 other demands on my time makin’ me super super stressed.

9. Participate in the library’s summer reading program

Haven’t read very much this summer, but I’m determined to log a few books! Mostly because every title you read counts as an entry in a drawing for prizes… usually candy or something. I’m here for that.

10. Write up a summary of my study abroad experience

I’m required to do this in order for my time in Ireland to count toward my designation as an honors student. Minimum four hundred words, maximum one thousand words. So it shouldn’t take long. It’s actually not due until a few weeks into the semester, but I’d rather have it done soon so I’m not worrying about that deadline. If anyone would like to volunteer to critique my first draft (or two or three), I’d really appreciate it!

11. Clear out my inbox

I… have well over 40,000 unread emails. AHH PLEASE DON’T JUDGE ME. I’ve let them accumulate over the years: Lots of them are related to blog subscriptions or comments, while the older ones are mostly from my last few years of high school when I’d get several dozen emails per day from colleges trying to win me over. I need to go through my main account and ruthlessly delete anything I don’t need or want to make it easier to find the things I really need.

-~-

When will your summer draw to a close? Is there anything in particular that you’d like to do before then?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 11(ish) Things I Want To Do Before The Summer’s Over

  1. Mahima says:

    I actually love cleaning up stuff so much. so the emails thing sounds exciting haha.

    I volunteer to help you with the drafts! I’m not sure how I can help since my skills are not to your level ofc but if you want my help it’s here.

    hope you get everything you want to get done. the blog will be here whether you have a ton of posts or not. you’re doing pretty amazing this summer anyhow.

    good luck with all the hard stuff! I hope it gets easier to manage.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Lmaoooo I haven’t even started in on the email project yet, oops. But I have been productive in loads of other ways, so that’s good at least!

      Thanks!! And I’m sure your skills will be fine… you’re a great writer. 🙂 The summary isn’t meant to be super complicated, either, so I’m not worried about it. I just want a second or third set of eyes to look over it and let me know if it’s coherent and compelling!

      Ahhhhhh thank u so so much !!!!!! I’m trying to make every day of summer count. ^_^

  2. Heather says:

    It’s so nice of your neighbors to share their dog! That’s really lovely. 🙂 I also applaud you writing like the wind to have things prepared for your blog over the next semester. I’m shutting down my blog at the end of the summer just because I cannot handle the time consumingness it takes to write things right now. 😛 And cleaning your room is a noble goal. Maybe one I should imitate? Ha…

    • nevillegirl says:

      They’re the best. 🙂

      Thanks! And ahh, I’m sorry to hear that. But if you feel that it’s the right decision and will give you more time to do other things you love, then I’m proud of you for making that decision because I know it would be a hard one for me!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

