Irish Weather | Rain, Sunsets, & LOTS OF SWEATERS (!)

Continuing off of a recent post where I discussed things that surprised me about Ireland, I thought that today I would tell you my thoughts on Irish weather. Because boy do I have a bunch.

Although it was stereotypically rainy and cloudy the day we arrived, my classmates and I soon experienced a lengthy period of freakishly beautiful weather: Blue skies, big fluffy clouds. Sometimes the temperature even reached 80oF, which is nothing remarkable back home but is unusual for Ireland!

Later on the weather tilted more toward the rainy side of things, but despite all that moisture the air was quite dry – making me miss the humidity of Midwestern summers. I never thought I’d miss hot, sticky summers in Indiana and Iowa, but I definitely did.

Don’t get me wrong, I adore sweaters and wear them as often as I possibly can, but after a while it felt very wrong to wear them (sometimes even along with my heavy, woolen winter coat!) in July.

I don’t understand, like… very much science at all, but I guess being a relatively small island in the North Atlantic keeps the Irish climate pretty mild. #themoreyouknow

Tbh being able to tolerate the warmer days made me feel like a superhero because, while the Irish people I encountered sweltered and complained about the heat, I wasn’t bothered at all. It was a neat, if unexpected, feeling. Lmao.

Another thing I realized is that, for as much as I love this country and its people, I don’t know that I could live there. I want to. I joke about moving to Ireland and living in a hut on the side of a mountain with my wife, some cats, and a herd of sheep.

But honestly? When it’s cloudy and dreary, it settles in my bones. I struggle through the winter in Iowa every year for that reason. Could I, SHOULD I really live someplace where the weather has a tendency to worsen my depression?

I mean, I have plenty of time to ponder the answer to that because it’s not like I have the money or even the opportunity to move anytime soon – I still have to finish undergrad! – but it’s definitely something to consider.

Oh, I almost forgot! I wanted to talk about the sunrise/sunset, too. IT’S SO DIFFERENT FROM WHAT I’M USED TO. I actually think it accounted for a lot of the difficulty I had getting over my jet lag? Because Ireland is located at a higher latitude than the region of the US that I’m from, the sun rose much earlier and set much later than I was expecting.

Granted, it was summer when I visited so the hours of daylight were bound to be longer then than in the winter, but still: Sunrises at barely five and sunsets at ten?! It was very weird to run errands at like nine PM in nearly full sunlight.

By the end of my stay, I was perfectly happy to head back into hot, humid weather – and yet I miss Ireland, too, with all its meteorological surprises. I’d love to go back someday, especially during a different season!

What is your opinion of Irish weather? Have you ever traveled someplace where the climate surprised or baffled you? TELL ME AND I WILL (HOPEFULLY) GO THERE.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Nevillegirl's Travels, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

