The Autumn Tag

Hi, everyone! Today’s tag is about my favorite season of all: FALL! Or autumn, as the case may be. I absolutely love this season and love talking about it, so I thought I’d answer a few fall-themed questions.

I don’t actually remember where, exactly, I found these fifteen questions, but I believe it was originally a YouTube tag. (So I must have found these either on a video or on one of the many, many blogs that collect lots of different tags into one place.)

So if you do know who created this tag, please let me know so I can give them the credit they deserve!

Enjoy!

The smell of pumpkin guts or rotting leaves?

I love going on long hikes in the fall because the leaves smell so good! For some reason, the scent of decaying leaves always puts me in a literary state of mind: I can’t explain how or why, but being out in nature during the fall motivates me to curl up with a classic novel or scribble in a notebook as soon as I’m back inside after my hike.

Sweet or salty pumpkin seeds?

Um, salty, I guess? I don’t think I’ve ever had the sweet kind. I’m not really a fan of roasted pumpkin seeds in general, though, so if we were ever in a room together with a bowl of pumpkin seeds I’d totally let you eat them all.

Storebought or pumpkin patch pumpkins?

Pumpkins from the patch, definitely! That way, your trip to get pumpkins turns into a whole adventure complete with wandering around the patch looking for the perfect pumpkin and MAYBE EVEN BUYING DONUTS AND CIDER AND OTHER YUMMY FALL TREATS.

Wool or knit sweaters?

I’m a big fan of sweaters in any and all forms, TBH, but I especially love knitted sweaters and would live in them year-round if the weather allowed. My ideal aesthetic is “soft sweater lesbian.”

Go to a Halloween party or explore haunted places?

Concept: Me, hosting a Halloween party for some of my friends that ends in us exploring haunted places. I don’t believe that any places/objects are really haunted, but it’s certainly cool to think about. I enjoy the thrill every once in a while even if it makes my anxiety skyrocket…

Apple pie or pumpkin pie?

AHHH I’M GETTING HUNGRY JUST THINKING ABOUT THIS BECAUSE MY MOM MAKES THE MOST DELICIOUS PIES WITH AMAZINGLY FLAKY CRUSTS AND I MISS HER BAKING SO SO MUCH.

While I do love a good apple pie, I think I’m going to go with pumpkin just because we eat it less often (Thanksgiving and sometimes Christmas) and so it’s more special.

Still, silent nights or rainy, windblown nights?

Rainy, windblown nights are THE ACTUAL BEST… but I prefer the wind and the rain to begin after I get back from class! Walking home in the still, silent late afternoon or early evening is far more pleasant than the alternative, but I don’t mind if the wind begins to howl once night falls. In fact, I love it and think it makes long study sessions more atmospheric. (So I always try to get a window seat in the library / dorm study lounge / coffeeshop.)

Witches or ghosts?

I love reading about witches and need more stories about them! WHERE ARE MY GAY YA NOVELS ABOUT WITCHES?! But while I’m on the subject of gay supernatural entities, I wouldn’t mind someone writing a story about gay ghosts for me, either.

Raking leaves or climbing trees?

I’ve changed my mind; my aesthetic is actually “tree lesbian who wears flannels and boots and climbs trees in an attempt to impress cute girls” because I! Love! Climbing! Trees! So! Much! I really need to find more good trees to climb on campus because the number I’ve climbed here so far is pitifully small.

Ouija boards or ghost stories around a campfire?

I’ve never used a Ouija board (I don’t even know if “used” is the right verb for it?), but I’d have to say telling ghost stories around a campfire anyway because I love campfires! I hate how long the smell of smoke lingers in my clothes afterward, but sitting around a campfire is a super enjoyable way to spend a fall evening and telling ghost stories could only make it better.

October or November?

ARE WE PRETENDING THAT SEPTEMBER DOESN’T EXIST? IS THAT HOW THINGS ARE GONNA BE? Because that is deeply uncool. September is MY BIRTHDAY MONTH, so obviously it is the best part of fall. And the best part of the rest of the year, was well.

But if I had to choose… well, I’d say October. Sure, November has exciting things such as NaNoWriMo (!!!!) and Thanksgiving break (which I appreciate so much because we don’t get a fall break at my school so Thanksgiving week is the first break we have during the fall semester, ugh), but October weather is lovelier.

That’s what it comes down to for me, honestly. I haven’t had the time/energy to really celebrate Halloween these past few years because midterms are always around that time, but I still prefer October over November because it’s less dreary. And dreary = poor mental health, usually. So, yeah. Definitely not cold, rainy, gloomy November. Even though I love taking a break from school.

Black cats or owls?

I mean, you know me. Cats! Although owls are pretty great too. They’re probably one of my favorite birds because there are just sO MANY DIFFERENT SPECIES and they’re all adorable, even the angry-looking ones. ESPECIALLY the angry-looking ones.

Fireplace or candlelight?

I REFUSE TO CHOOSE BECAUSE I WANT BOTH. A house with a fireplace is probably out of the question for someone with the salary of a writer/journalist, but I’d still love to have one someday because AHHH MY FUTURE WIFE AND I CAN SIT NEXT TO IT AND READ OR WRITE AND CUDDLE AND BE CUTE.

Buuuuut on the other hand, you obviously need candlelight for AMBIENCE when telling scary ghost stories to your wife. Obviously.

Ahhh so many of my answers to this tag have been super gay because girls and fall are two of my favorite things, soooo… I like to think about both of them at the same time whenever possible.

Monster movies or their classic novels?

As you could probably tell from one of my answers up above, I’m all about reading LOTS of books in the fall, particularly classics! Something about those cloudy, chilly fall days and nights makes them the perfect time to grab a blanket and some tea/hot chocolate and binge-read old books.

Carving or painting pumpkins?

Carving! I’ve painted pumpkins once or twice before and, like… didn’t really get the point. It’s just not fun or creative enough for me. I don’t know.

-~-

I’m tagging:

And as always, feel free to participate whether or not I tagged you. (Or ignore this tag, if you so choose.)

-~-

What do you love most about this season? AND AND AND do you call it fall or autumn?!

 

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Autumn Tag

  1. themagicviolinist says:

    Ahhhh, you’ve got me wanting to bundle up in a cozy sweater and read under a tree with changing leaves! This is such a fun post! 🙂 Also, I’ve got a gay YA novel about witches coming your way if I can get my act together and edit it enough to find a way to possibly publish it. xD

  2. Mom says:

    I will be sure to make lots of pie when you are home on break!!

  3. Rachel says:

    Thanks for the tag 🙂
    I think what I enjoy the most are the colors of the season and baking. Autumn sounds much nicer, but I usually call it fall 😛

  4. I didn’t get notified that you tagged me*, but I was gonna do it anyway, so yay! 🙂 Also, I’d probably definitely read a gay YA ghost or witch novel. There must be adult novels of gay witches – I might have seen some when browsing the independently/small press published books on Amazon (I bought a couple of NA/adult witch kindle reads and now my Amazon suggestions is going mad for the genre) – but I’ve not really seen any YA of the kind.

    *This is possibly because I notice the link you have is for my old blog address. Now it’s just: https://alexandrinabrant.wordpress.com/

  5. Pingback: The Autumn Tag – Alexandrina Brant

  6. Pingback: Autumn Tag – Daylight Differentials

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

