Together Or Not At All

The title of this post comes from that of an awesome love theme for Amy and Rory in “The Angels Take Manhattan.”

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I don’t have a girlfriend yet, but I’m not sad about that today. Why would I be? Not dating gives me extra time for  daydreaming, reading all the books that ever existed, and creating plans for my eventual world domination. (I hope to eventually rule the world with a cute co-villainess.) Oh yes, and time in which I go, “Aw!” and sigh happily over cute fictional couples.

So I thought I’d make a list. Following are my top ten favorite fictional couples.

But first, some announcements: This post is absolutely, positively spoiler-free (so you can enjoy the cuteness without having a sad because you learned that someone dies). Also, I limited myself to one fictional couple per fandom because otherwise I would go on and on about pairings from A Song of Ice and Fire and Doctor Who and you’d all get bored. Finally, the couples are listed in no particular order – they’re all cute, and I couldn’t even begin to attempt deciding who “wins.” So yeah. Enjoy!

faramir-and-Eowyn-faramir-and-eowyn-29599448-1000-571[1]

Faramir and Éowyn
(Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien)

“Then, Éowyn of Rohan, I say to you that you are beautiful. In the valleys of our hills there are flowers fair and bright, and maidens fairer still; but neither flower nor lady have I seen till now in Gondor so lovely, and so sorrowful. It may be that only a few days are left ere darkness falls upon our world, and when it comes I hope to face it steadily; but it would ease my heart, if while the Sun yet shines, I could see you still. For you and I have both passed under the wings of the Shadow, and the same hand drew us back.”

Normally I don’t enjoy love stories like Faramir’s and Éowyn’s. They get together within a handful of pages towards the very end of The Return of the King, but somehow Tolkien pulls off this love-at-first-sight thing quite well. I guess it’s due to their similarities, because both Faramir and Éowyn have lost someone, and neither was much appreciated. I wish their scene in the film adaptations was longer – you don’t even know they’re a couple unless you watch the extended editions.

 Ella and Char
(Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine)

“You wouldn’t waste time or paper on a being you didn’t like…  I want to be with you forever and beyond, but you write that you are too young to marry or too old or too short or too hungry – until I crumple your letters up in despair, only to smooth them out again for a twelfth reading, hunting for hidden meanings.”

Ella’s wittiness and love of sliding down stair railings are considered a bit weird, not something a proper lady does, but she finds an equal in Char. I love their complete disregard for normality – they’d rather goof off and if no one will join them, they don’t care. They’ll have a blast together anyway!

550w_torchwood_coe_5_1Jack Harkness and Ianto Jones
(Torchwood)

“You never will be just a blip in time, Ianto Jones. Not for me.”

Torchwood‘s third series, “Children of Earth,” is awesome and you should watch it for lots of reasons – Peter Capaldi! a great plot! Gwen being gorgeous! – but especially the Jack/Ianto cuteness. They fight aliens and shoot things and snog. (And Ianto looks like the human equivalent of a cuddly teddy bear, but that’s not really relevant.) And because it’s Torchwood there will be sadness, but I won’t tell you any more because that’s already closer to a spoiler than I’d like.

Gregor and Luxa
(Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins)

“’Never,’ said Gregor. ‘I’ll never get rid of you, no matter how hard I try.’ It was no longer an effort to say the words. ‘I love you.’
‘I love you, too,’ said Luxa. After that there was nothing left to say.”

Gregor and Luxa are special to me because they were the first couple I really adored. Their romance is slow-burning – I mean, they were only eleven in the first book – and it’s neat to see how two young people from such different cultures gradually begin to trust one another more. And Suzanne Collins handled that subplot quite well too, never letting it overwhelm from the action and fantasy that is the main storyline.

katniss peeta cave1[1]

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark
(Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins)

“What I need to survive is not Gale’s fire, kindled with rage and hatred. I have plenty of fire myself. What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that.”

Suzanne Collins is definitely talented at romantic plots! Katniss and Peeta fall in love slowly, and have a lot of setbacks on the way because neither is sure if they can trust the other – they’re just pretending to be in love, appealing to the audience in hopes of winning the Hunger Games. But I’m not really interested in that aspect of their relationship. What I love about this couple is the way gender roles are reversed. Katniss does the rescuing while Peeta is, essentially, the damsel in distress. And they don’t care. Why should they? They have other things to think about, like staying alive.

Ash and Kaisa
(Ash by Malinda Lo)

“Have you ever wished to be a princess?” Ash challenged her.
“That depends,” Kaisa said.
“On what?”
“On whether I would have to marry a prince,” she said, and her tone was lighthearted, inviting Ash to share her smile.

I just can’t handle all the adorable in this book! I thought their story was very realistic – they’re sweet to one another yet awkward at the same time. They have amazing chemistry and I’m happy that Lo drew out the tension over more than two hundred pages, because it made the final chapter perfect.

untitledfxnn

Khal Drogo and Daenerys Targaryen
(A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin)

“When the sun rises in the west and sets in the east. When the seas go dry and mountains blow in the wind like leaves. When my womb quickens again, and I bear a living child. Then you will return, my sun-and-stars, and not before.”

I just couldn’t see how Dany and Drogo’s relationship would work. Theirs was an arranged marriage, and there’s a big age difference between them, and they don’t even speak the same language at the beginning of the story. But somehow, it did work. Dany became bolder and Drogo… well, Drogo is this weird combination of Big Buff Fierce Warrior and Total Softie.

Violet Adams and Ernest Worthington
(All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen)

“Violet had always thought that people were like gears – one could spin alone and accomplish something minor, but when two gears fit together perfectly and rotate in time, they could do so much more. And gears did not have genders. They either fit or they didn’t.”

Violet and Ernest are a brilliant scientific duo, and an unusual couple to boot. They fall in love while building inventions together and sending geeky letters. Oh, and there are lots of metaphors about flowers and gears.

tumblr_mfm0hqhQqV1rur469o1_500Madame Vastra and Jenny Flint
(Doctor Who)

“The heart is a relatively simple thing.”
“I have not found it to be so.”

These two have been in only four episodes but they’re so cute that they outdo even pairings involving the Doctor. In Whoniverse canon they’re the inspirations for Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, and they kick alien butt while solving crimes. We may not know much background information about them – they just kind of showed up in series six without a real introduction – but we don’t need that, not when we can see how much they love each other. The way they look at each other is askfhaslkfshlkaghdsg sweet. (You can tell how awesome they are because usually I avoid keysmashing reactions.)

Carl-and-Ellie-Up

Carl and Ellie
(
Up)

“Thanks for the adventure. Now go have one of your own.”

Up is the best children’s movie ever, according to yours truly. I expected something dorky, with immature jokes, but it’s actually quite sweet and sad and deep. In about five minutes, the film shows Carl and Ellie’s lives from the moment they met as kids to the day one of them dies, leaving the other completely heartbroken and bitter. They’re perfect and make me look forward to finding someone with whom I can spend my life adventuring. (And I am totally going to paint our house like Carl and Ellie’s.)

And finally, here are the runner-up couples:

  • Ninth Doctor and Rose Tyler (Doctor Who)
  • Eleventh Doctor and River Song (Doctor Who)
  • Arthur and Molly Weasley (Harry Potter)
  • Galadriel/Celeborn (Lord of the Rings)
  • Linh Cinder and Kai (Cinder)
  • Beatrice and Benedick (Much Ado About Nothing)
  • Eddard and Catelyn Stark (A Song of Ice and Fire)
  • Blue Sargent and Dick Gansey (The Raven Boys)

Of all the fictional couples I listed, which ones are your favorites? Do you adore any that I didn’t list here?

-~-

A similar post can be found at Lady Geek Girl -it’s awesome, even if we only agree on one couple.

And last but not least, the Good-Sinful Alliance has a Valentine’s Day message that is sure to make even the vilest of villains swoon. (And maybe then hand their minions roses and chocolate.) In the words of the wicked, “It’s perfectly acceptable to kiss your girlfriend and then go out and crown yourselves world dictators. That’s right – being evil doesn’t have to be a solo endeavor!”

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Together Or Not At All

  1. matttblack42 says:

    I completely agree with Jack Harkness and Ianto Jones, Gregor and Luxa, Khal Drogo and Daenerys Targaryen, Madame Vastra and Jenny Flint, and Carl and Ellie. But I do disagree with you on one thing: Up is only the second best children’s movie. Finding Nemo is where it’s at.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Awesome, yay!

      Ah, good point – Finding Nemo was pretty good. Although I haven’t seen it in forever.
      (And Toy Story is awesome too.)
      (And Monsters Inc.)
      (And Despicable Me.)
      (And basically now that I am on the subject of children’s movies, I won’t shut up.)

  2. Pingback: Fictional Characters Have Better Love Lives Than Moi | Laughing at Live Dragons

  3. Pingback: Fandom Park – The Game Has Changed | FanFiction Fridays

  4. Pingback: Fandom Park – The Romance Edition | FanFiction Fridays

  5. Artgirl says:

    IANTO IS MOST DEFINITELY THE HUMAN VERSION OF A CUDDLY TEDDY BEAR

    *coughs* Anyway…I must say, I very much agree about Up being the best children’s movie. I love how it’s different than pretty much any children’s movie out there ever—the only romantic plot is between Carl and Ellie, and it works really well, subtlety influencing but not interfering with the plot. And the movie is more about friendship than romance. Plus talking dogs. And it has deep parts and sad parts and adorable parts and funny parts and dorky parts. Now I want to do a post rambling about how awesome that movie is…

    I think I would have put Arthur and Molly up on my list. Maybe it’s because it’s hard for me to find a love story I actually like, because there’s far too much poorly written romance or romance that simply isn’t for me out there. But people don’t usually even think of Arthur and Molly as a romance, but they’re adorable. They may argue but they’d save the world for each other. They’re also some of my favorite characters in HP, so that might be why.

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nods* Especially in this photo: http://images2.fanpop.com/images/photos/7100000/Jack-Ianto-jack-and-ianto-7187306-1920-1200.jpg Jack is like I’M SO SEXY while Ianto is all JACK IS MINE AND ONLY I CAN CUDDLE HIM.

      It’s a great mix of funny and sad. 😀

      Molly/Arthur would’ve been #11, methinks. They’re the only couple I really like from HP – the others aren’t bad, exactly, just… I don’t know. Average? I used to be a really big fan of Lupin/Tonks and Snape/Lily but not so much anymore. (I *am* still a big fan of Lupin/Sirius but that’s not strictly canon, unfortunately.)
      Anyway, I like that they’re an older couple but just as sweet. Most of the couples on my list are quite young…

    • Artgirl says:

      That picture totally hasn’t been the background on my phone for several months now…no…

      Yep, basically all of that third paragraph word for word. Those are my thoughts.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I would totally put that on my phone, except it’s a tiny, pathetic little thing and I don’t know that I can change the background on it. :/

  6. Bane says:

    Oh my gosh. Vastra and Jenny and Carl and Ellie… ❤ Happy (late) Valentine's Day!

  7. Bane says:

    I KNOW. I haven’t seen Torchwood, but Jack/Ianto looks impossible to not ship.

  8. Pingback: Quarterly Rewind, Winter 2014 – A Plentiful Supply Of Books, Photography, And More | Musings From Neville's Navel

  9. Pingback: I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

